We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, lovely service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #59 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived after 10pm but the staff still bent over backwards to make us welcome, and they kept the friendly service going throughout our stay. Very pretty garden with statues. I recommend getting a garden room if you can.

Only one lack - tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerryandcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    176
    45
    32
    9
See reviews for
39
298
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Hotel is really well located, in a quiet area a lazy and nice 5 minute walk from the main Square in Brugge. We stayed 3 nights midweek and found the accommodation to be great and fresh.
I would note that the Garden rooms are two story so in need for mobility purposes ensure to book the ground floor. The garden and buildings are lovely and really a nice space after a day of crowds to unwind, you certainly do not feel like you are in the center of the town.
There are two parts to the hotel, the main building which is on the road and older, and the garden rooms, which are at the back of the property on the garden obviously, these have no road noise at all. The entire hotel was impeccably clean and staff could not possibly have been more attentive and helpful to us, we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much hassle, no matter the hour of the day.
The staff were also great with our dog as we were booked on a long day tour and they got him out of our room and played with him which was so nice of them.
The parking is directly next door and costs 15Euro for 24 hour periods, is grassed and well lit, with bins too so is very clean. The breakfast is great with a good variety of cereals, fruits, juices, and hot buffet available (including Stroop Wafels of course).
The restaurant is quite beautiful, as is the entire hotel.We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Montanus and would stay again if we returned.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, there is a lift in the main building, however for the garden rooms st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is very well situated, withing minutes from the town square and therefore is perfect for a weekend stay in Bruges. The view of the cathedral and the charming garden only add to the charm of the hotel. Note however that parking is not free - 15 Euros per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

For a business trip we stayed here during the week. The building of the hotel is old but only in the way that it add style. All modern facilities are available. What really makes this hotel shines is the staff: nothing is too much and they will do anything to make you feel comfortable and welcome.

Breakfast and lunch are very good. There is also an option of in-house dinner but we did not make use of that. The TV has enough channels and even the least expensive rooms are grand for European standards.

The location of the hotel is right in the center of Bruges. The hotel has a parking lot where you can park your car for 15 euro per day. All in all we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

After walking around Bruges and inquiring at several hotels re rates and availability for one night we saw this hotel on a quiet side street. Their rooms were 130€ but only one left and it was a suite for 190€, which we said was too much. They countered with the suite for 130€ and we asked to look at it because in Europe you never know what you will get. To our surprise it was a huge living room space, very large bathrooms and huge bedroom up a few stairs with 2 flat screens and all the extras - a real deal. Included were 2 first class breakfasts that included anything you could imagine. Very first class. Friendly staff, clean and a very nice courtyard and restaurant area, plus a cool small lounge . We parked our car about a 10 minute walk away which cost about 9€ for 24 hours. This hotel was short walk from old Bruges. Recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: There is no pool ,I hit pool by mistake and could not eliminate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cédric G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Montanus, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
The team of hotel Montanus would like to thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.
We're very pleased to hear you've had a pleasant stay in our hotel.

Best regards,

Cédric George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Looking for luxury rooms and excellent service? Try Hotel Montanus. Small hotel in central Brugge but with rooms in a quiet garden.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel was great, very bright and very clean. We stayed there for four nights and the room was a good standard. The only down side was that the bed was highly uncomfortable and we woke up with a backache each morning. This wasn't a big enough problem to ruin our trip however.
We choose not to dine at the hotel as it was largely expensive, as with everything in Bruges. It is an indulgent place to go, so expect to spend money. The hotel was situated in the perfect place, it was very quiet at night and not far from the centre. Don't expect late night outs, because places shut early. Do visit the beer wall, its great and you must hire the bicycles to visit the windmills.
All in all the hotel was just what we were looking for in our trip to Bruges.

Room Tip: The card they present you with at reception which gives you a percentage off the normal price for at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lornzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Property: Hotel Montanus
Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing