We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Overall the NH Brugge is a good Hotel - good location, clean rooms, friendly service.
We needed a room on short notice and NH Brugge was one of the few Hotels that would accept dogs.

Positive:
- friendly and helpfull staff
- clean rooms
- due to the old building and furnishing you dont have the feeling of an ordinary chain hotel.
- great location - you can walk everywhere
- free upgrade into a suite
- double glassed windows - not too much street noise
- dogs allowed

NEGATIVE
- Corridor and Rooms in the 3rd floor are quiet dark due to dark colors and decor.
- we had constant noise from the ventilation in the room, thanks to earplugs not a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YellowCrazyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

Went with my partner for a pre-Valentines day weekend and had a bit of trepidation about the hotel as per the comments on TripAdvisor - but had a whale of a time. The service was excellent; the staff were so un-Belgium (in other words friendly); the room was incredible (albeit 2 double beds - why can't they have a king size)?

Most important, the position of the hotel, was so central that we could walk virtually everywhere (excluding the most incredible restaurant - separate review Sans Cravat).

The price was a wee bit expensive but looking at the whole package, it was worth it.
I definitely would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Conveniently located just out of the city centre itself, which I normally hate, but it was ideal as it was 2 mins walk to city and 5-10mins to train station which was perfect for us.

Hotel was cozy. We arrived and got to our room only to discover the room was connected to another room next door but the link door had not lock. Wierd. We asked to move and are request was seen to immedietly even though the hotel was full.

Would I stay again? Probably.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djdando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! It is an older style hotel with heavy, dark decor but it fits with the location. The twin room was perfectly pleasant but the beds were pushed together so was not a proper twin. There was an offer on the reception desk to upgrade for 20 Euros to two double beds and we wished we had done that at the beginning before we had unpacked all our belongings.

The American Buffet was great and included in the very reasonable price. The noise from the adjoining rooms however was awful and was such that I did not sleep properly for 3 nights (the total length of our stay). This in turn affected my whole enjoyment of the trip.
The noise was simply people moving around, the heating and the plumbing. If you are light sleepers (which I am normally not) or if you think this will affect you, request a quiet room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband and I first came to Brugge and stayed at this hotel in October. We stayed on the second floor (the blue floor) and had a lovely room - spacious, clean, comfortable beds (very important to me!). Had a minor snafu when heading to our first assigned room, as we discovered it had not yet been made up from the previous guest. The front desk told us to stay put and brought us a key to a new room immediately. Also had the maid service try to enter our room after we had put the 'do not disturb' sign on door one morning, but figured that was another fluke. Had breakfast there one morning and it was quite good (although Bittersweet in town is much better for the price!).

Enchanted with the city, we brought my parents here for Christmas when they came out from CA. This time, their room was on the 2nd floor, and ours was on the 3rd (red) floor. The 3rd floor is apparently not fully renovated as the 2nd - the bathrooms are shoddy, with dirty, cracking tile and really outdated fixtures. The beds and mattresses were not nearly as good either. When I visited my parents room on the 2nd, I noticed the tile in their bathroom was mildewed, but all else looked as nice as our first stay. One night, we all enjoyed drinks in the bar before heading out to dinner. Drinks were delicious and ambiance was quite nice with the roaring fire and cozy space. On this 2nd trip, the maid staff again entered our room after requesting they do not (thankfully, this time we were not in the room) and were unbelievably loud in the halls in the morning (as in, yelling to each other from down the corridor).

Overall, we really like this hotel (mainly the renovated floor) and it's location, but think they need to find new maid staff that can clean better, be quieter and honor guests wishes about their rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegirlinDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

OK, let's get the bad out of the way: when we checked in, the clerk was clearly new and sent us completely the wrong way to find our room. Not terminal, but annoying when you're heaving luggage around.

The other thing was that our room hadn't been cleaned properly, but it only became apparent on very close inspection, something I don't normally do. It may also be that because it was New Year's Eve they didn't have quite enough staff to go round.

The final issue was that whenever the people in the next room opened their door, it sounded like ours was being opened, which was extremely disconcerting, but otherwise harmless. The hotel room wasn't particularly noisy or anything, it was just when opening next door.

So, having got those minor issues out of the way, let's talk about the good things: firstly, the room was enormous, really quite comfortable for an extended stay.

The bathroom was good and I have to compliment them on their excellent toiletries.

The bed was very comfortable, which is a big issue for someone who suffers from back pain.

The coffee machine made excellent coffee, but my partner was somewhat less impressed with the tea making facilities.

The bar was very pleasant and a great place to relax after a day's exploring Bruges.

We didn't eat in the Ter Boeverie restaurant, but we did have the New Year's eve dinner in one of the function rooms. The food was absolutely excellent and the wines were also wonderful. The Ter Boeverie menu looked a bit pricey, especially considering how many restaurants are in Bruges, but the food is certainly good.

The location is excellent, but to be honest, Bruges isn't that big that location is really an issue.

Overall, I can certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Bruges. And really, everyone should visit Bruges!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuttBouquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at NH Brugge over the New Year holiday and had a fantastic time.

The hotel is ideally located for the train station and T' Zand Square and only a 10 minute walk from the main Market Square. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful, the service is second to none. The rooms are large, quiet and have very comfy beds! The hotel bar and restaurant may be a little pricey but there is a wide range of bars and restaurants just across the square from the hotel.

The only criticism I do have (which is a tiny criticism) is that the swimming pool changing facility is almost non-existent. It is a very small, unisex room and the door is open to the 1st floor corridor. I got changed in the loo cubicle!

Regardless of the changing room issue, we were very well looked after and would definitely go there again

Thanks NH Brugge

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
2,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $96 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing