We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel at a great location, friendly staff”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent hotel at a great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my wife on a romantic city trip to Bruges. We booked the hotel at a promotional rate of 55€ p.p. The hotel is located very close to the city centre (near the concert hall), and thus at walking distance from the touristic attractions.
The staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The hotel decoration is traditional (e.g. 'Flemish tapestry' hanging in the halls); the rooms are in the same theme. All comfort is present in the room, though the room we had is a bit outdated, especially the bathroom with a shower which definitely has had its best time.
The room we had was not really quiet as we could easily hear our neighbours watching television and using the bathroom. The windows are also not really blocking street rumours as we woke up at night several times because of people shouting on the street.
Breakfast in the morning was really good in a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    1,021
    291
    102
    37
See reviews for
312
1,311
66
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Visited Brugge in July 2010 and chose to stay in this hotel as I had NH loyalty points. We were pleased to be upgraded to a beautiful suite upon arrival (we had advised them that we were staying for our anniversary, it was actually nothing to do with my loyalty status). The room was lovely, the location perfect for a short stroll into town and the breakfast buffet high quality and extensive - would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Do tell the hotel about any special occasion you are celebrating - in my experience, NH regularly of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had an extremely pleasant stay at the NH in Bruges. We were welcomed by friendly staff, were very impressed by the size of the rooms and very much enjoyed the extensive breakfast.
The whole place has a bit of a 'castle' feel to it, with some suits of armor, tapestries, heavy wooden furniture, etc.
The location is fine too, just a short walk away from the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Had secured a good rate for this NH, it's a short walk from the station, right on the edge of the towncentre - maybe 5mins walk to the central square. The hotel has a swimming pool and our room was incredibly quiet, even with the window open (facing towards a green space). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Corridors are a bit dark and the room was clean but could do with a bit of a refresh in due course, but overall would definitely considering staying there again. Did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Reception was excellent on all occasions. The room on the 5th floor had a King size bed and all the facilities you need. The restaurant offers a €33.00 deal on the menu which is great value and the quality of the food was excellent, much better value than eating near the centre. The only downside was on the web it offers a steam room but there is not one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed here two nights on business as found the hotel to be very comfortable indeed. The following are pros and cons:

Pros

Good location
Good size rooms
Great breakfast selection
Free wifi in lobby

Cons

Lack of free wifi in bedroom
Breakfast is relatively expensive altho as mentioned above spread is good

The bedroom was a good size and the bed very comfortable. Tv was old fashioned CRT style but channel selection was good.

It's about 2 minutes walk into old city centre from where you can walk everywhere.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobdibest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
206 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I booked NH Hotel Brugge partly because of the pool, which was shown on Hotels.com and TripAdvisor. Well, they closed the pool a few months ago, so forget about that. Their home page is updated, but these other sites are not.

Like other reviewers mention, the rooms are rather shabby (see my picture of the mini-bar buerau), and the hallways give off kind of a 'The Shining' vibe, but I don't mind too much about that. However, our double room actually had 2 single beds on wheels pushed together -- hardly ideal for a romantic weekend with my partner! Further, the beds each had separate, thin duvets with no top sheets, so it was doubly cold while snuggling was made so difficult.

Perhaps the best thing about this hotel was the ample breakfast buffet (open until 1130am on the weekends), and its proximity (10 mins walk) from the train station.

For the price point, it was okay, but if I had it to do over again, I'd spend a bit more for a better place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakalanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Property: NH Brugge
Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Brugge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing