We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated - you can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2006

Nice hotel spolied by poor management attitude. This is a very pretty old town house, centrally located and convenient. But - as an old house it has been converted and some rooms suffer from the conversion.

Rooms are not well sound proofed and any noise from neighboring rooms is very clearly heard. In our case it was neighbors having very loud sex for a long time. The night porter didn't know the hotel layout and did not know which room the noise came from - in fact there were only two on the floor! The management attitude was one of - what can you do?

A couple of other things to look for - the lift is tiny - two persons and no luggage. Totally unuseable for anyone disabled - the porter had to carry the bags up by hand as one didn't fit!

The stairs are angled with restricted headroom on the upper floors and the top floor fire exit lead to a corridor only 4' high. Not a good place to get out of in an emergency.

One thing to watch out for - the hotel likes to recomend a local restaurant - 'Marie de Borgonde' - avoid this. It is very very expensive and the food poor. There are better restaurants in town. There are loads on boutique hotels springing up in Bruges, it seems every other house is becoming a hotel - you are spoiled for choice - so don't chose this one, you can do better for less or similar money.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
57  Thank inari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2006

The Pand Hotel was a lovely hotel, the staff were attentive and the breakfasts were great, however, the one draw back was the room was extremely small. There was no room for sitting, other than on the bed, and even simple things like tea and coffee were missing. The hotel was very central, however and this did make for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank cjbaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Located in the center of town, this hotel is exceptional. Chocolates placed on the pillows, your sheets are turned down at night, old books and furniture from long ago. Our room was directly over the hotel entrance on the second floor, and the view was cobblestone streets and little Belgian buildings. Breakfast is served in the morning and shouldn't be missed. The staff is very friendly and speak english. The bathroom (sparkling clean!) had lots of marble and a jacuzzi. The hotel absorbed the building next door and renovated it also... this has created a puzzling maze of multiple floors, spiral stairs, twists and turns that are confusing, but cute. We DID find our room time and again, but we never did completely figure out how we got there. :) The elevators are the smallest I've ever seen, just enough room for 2 people and luggage. There is a small bar (I mean small) for a nightcap, and they serve tea. Overall- a beautiful, quaint, cozy hotel with exceptional service. We recommend it highly. Parking may be an issue- check in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

My mother and I stayed at The Pand Hotel for 3 nights for a 'girl's weekend' and it was really lovely! The location is brilliant, being right in the centre of things, but not on a main street so it was very quiet. It was a short cab ride from the railway station and this cost about 8 Euros, after that we were able to walk everywhere. We booked a Superior room to get the extra space and twin beds and while it was not huge, it was very comfortable and the decor was lovely. The bathroom had a proper stand up shower as well as a handheld over the spa bath and the beds and linen were lovely. The room was clean and the only thing that could have been nice to add would be tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and for them to have separated the twin beds as they were right next to each other. The breakfast is a must, a real event - the staff who provided the table service were so lovely and friendly, the food was fantastic and a glass of champagne is a fabulous way to start the day! Overall we had a wonderful trip and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and beautiful place to stay in Brugges.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaxM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

The Pand was lovely and breakfast a delighful experience particularly appreciated Ignace his wife Sandra and Rebecca who in charge of reception went far and away beyond in being helpful as did Ignace. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank honeyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

At the recommendation of a fellow traveler, we booked at The Pandhotel. Our stay couldn't have been better. After a warm welcome we were shown our room that was beautifully appointed, quiet, and filled with all ammenities needed for a pleasant stay. The public spaces are gracious and spacious. Located in the heart of Brugge, it is an easy walk to all attractions.
The hotel staff was always kind and helpful.

Stayed: September 2006
4  Thank bhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Thsi hotel is wonderful...we stayed for 2 glorious nights and only wish it could have been more. We booked our room knowing it was the smallest room in the hotel and what a surpsrise to find that despite that, it was not so small and it was very comfortable. Everything about the Pand is romantic...from the lobby lounge and bar, to the marble bathrooms, to the room decor. Also, the feel of the place is very luxurious. And as we were in Brugges during an unusally warm spell, the air conditioned rooms was a nice surprise! The staff is wonderfully friendly. Added bonuses: complimentary internet access for guests , a complimentary walking tour of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Fleurdelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel

Address: Pandreitje 16 | Flanders, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#16 Business Hotel in Bruges
#19 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $175 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel, is a Leading Boutique Hotel, awarded by the Tatler Guide as 1 of the 101 best in the world. It is situated in an 18th C. carriage house and is beautifully decorated with antiques, objets d'art and stunning fabrics of Ralph Lauren. The 26 rooms offer all the comfort and have luxurious bathrooms. Full breakfast with waiter-service and Champagne is served in the breakfast room, where eggs are freshly prepared on granny's stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pand Hotel Small Luxury
Pandhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing