We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just back from three nights at The Pand, excellent location. We stayed in a Ralph Lauren suite, very comfortable, excellent bed. Overlooked front of hotel, not too noisy. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good, quaint little room, the lady cooking on the Aga was efficient and charming. Easy to walk to most of the main sites. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ralph Lauren suite worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryMCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

We've just returned from a fantastic 4 day break in Bruges, made even lovelier by our stay in a junior suite at the Pand Hotel. The hotel's location is so central to all the main Bruges sights, with the canal right at the end of the street. A taxi from Bruges station to the hotel is only 10 mins and about €10.

Our welcome was great, very friendly reception staff who showed us where we were the map and where recommended restaurants are in relation to the hotel. We literally dumped our bags in the room and went out to explore. So pleased to find how central we were and all the major sights are within 10-15 mins walk.

Our junior suite was lovely and homely and the bed was also very comfortable despite feeling a bit hard when I first lay down. Breakfast is also fantastic. At €17 per person it isn't cheap but it is so convenient, delightfully served and very tasty so I'd recommend it over traipsing around Bruges to find something comparable.

Bruges is such a lovely city - we loved just wandering around the canals. Every corner seems to lead to another lovely view and another chocolate shop! The Ice Magic Sculpture festival was there when we went and is a brilliant, if rather cold, way to spend an hour! We were disappointed by the Christmas markets which I thought would be amazing but to be honest, the Christmas markets in Mcr are much bigger and better.

Overall we really enjoyed our trip, the Pand Hotel is somewhere very special and Bruges is a fairy tale place to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Ralph Lauren junior suite - 107. Comfortable, clean and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sek1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Romantic, great location, wonderful decor.

You won't be disappointed if you book the Pand. The location is extremely central: you exit, turn left and are on the canal in a matter of seconds.

A favourite was the open fire, and an evening drink.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_t_Doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stunning and homely place with a lot of class. The service was fantastic and I cannot recommend the hotel more. It is a luxurious place without being too flash. We stayed in one of the Junior suites which was perfect. Great location for the rest of the city and I will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

So blown away by our first stay at the Pand Hotel a couple of years ago, we promised ourselves a return visit. The opportunity arose to visit last week for just a one night stay and we were not disappointed. Walk through the doors of this small, boutique hotel and you step into a world of luxury and style which is coupled with a real warmth and charm. The service is spot on. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff manage to portray an understated attentiveness. We were driving through Bruges and booked parking with the hotel. On arrival we were able to put our car in one of the hotel's garages for the duration of our stay, making life fuss free in a busy city. The room we stayed in was perfect for us - do not expect large rooms or bathrooms unless you have a suite. The emphasis is on small but perfectly formed - quality and attention to detail is the key here. The hotel is brilliantly placed for walking around Bruges, taking in the sights and making best use of bars and restaurants. The staff recommended a few places for dinner and were happy to book for us. Our first choice, "Le Chef et Moi" was fully booked and we opted for Christophe a short walk away. The food was excellent. Like one of the other reviewers, we too have a great bed at home and often find hotel beds disappointing - not here! Breakfast is a real treat too and served in a manner you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else. We're already planning our third visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked this hotel based on reading recommendations and reviews from tripadvisor, so i think it's only fair i write my own review.
I recently returned from a 2 night stay in the Pand Hotel, where I took my girlfriend for a surprise birthday weekend. As it was a romantic weekend away I wanted something that looked flash, and I wasn't disappointed.
When we arrived the check in staff at the reception were warm, friendly and professional. They took our bags to the room whilst I checked in, and gave us some maps and details on Bruges, which was helpful. I had emailed prior to arriving and asked for a restaurant recommendation. Sarah replied very swiftly with a number of suggestions and when I picked one she even booked it for me. FYI, it was "le chef et moi" - a very good suggestion, nice food, friendly waitress, good atmosphere, and about 5 mins walk from the hotel.

The hotel is genuinely beautifully decorated, from the cosy bar at the front of the hotel to the very snug sitting room with an open fire, which was very welcome given the temperature outside. I'm not sure how recently it was decorated but the finish is a really high standard, and it manages to be warm and cosy but at the same time immaculate. My girlfriend was impressed, which meant that I was very pleased with my choice of hotel.

The room itself was a really good size (we had room 2 on the ground floor, which is a junior suite). The hotel is quiet, as it's set just off the main street, so no has real passing traffic. The location is excellent for sightseeing though. In fact if you like wine and/or jazz there's a really nice wine/jazz bar about 50 feet from the front door, does excellent gluwein (not the rubbish stuff you'll get in the markets) and tasty cheeses.

Anyway, back to the hotel, the bathroom has a whirlpool bath and a separate granite shower, both very welcome when we arrived in from the cold. The bed was large. We have a nice bed at home so it's sometimes a disappointment when we travel to find a small or uncomfortable bed, but not here. My girlfriend did find the mattress slightly firmer than she normally likes it, and we ended up putting a blanket under the sheets to cushion it a bit. We didn't think it was worth mentioning this to the reception staff as it was quite a minor issue, but clearly the maid noticed this and by the second night we noticed she had remade the bed with an additional pillow top mattress cover, which was really thoughtful and made my girlfriend very happy indeed (she's a nurse who works shifts so she really values her sleep).

There's no restaurant for lunch/dinner in the hotel, but frankly you're so close to the thousands of other great reastautants and bistro's that it would be a crime to stay in your hotel and eat when you're in Bruges. What the hotel does have is a really nice breakfast room, which is decorated to the same high standard as the rest of the hotel. The breakfast costs £22 but we were given a discount to £17 when we checked in. For this you get fruit, yoghurt, tea/coffee/juice, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, eggs (however you like them), tasty bread rolls, ham, cheese, jams etc. Oh and a glass of champagne thrown in for good measure. It's actually very good value and good quality too. Plus the waitress didn't look annoyed as we turned up about 5 mins before the end of the breakfast shift on both mornings. As with everyone else in the hotel the waitress was warm and friendly. I'm not sure if this hotel is family run/managed, but I definitely got the feeling that everyone I met here enjoys their jobs, which is not always the case in some larger hotels.
I would defintely recommend this hotel to friend, and my girlfriend already did so to her brother when we got back, so i think they'll find their way over there some time soon.

In summary, I can't think of a single complaint about this hotel. The building is beautiful, the location is perfect, the staff and the service are tremendous, and the breakfast is great. What's not to like?

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 on the ground floor, which is a Junior Suite. Very comfortable. The room temp was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgentGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I have never stayed anywhere before where I felt so cared for in such elegant surroundings. I cannot say enough good things about this place. It's in the perfect location, easy to find with the sat nav, and steps away from the river where you can take a boat trip and close to the main square for once you arrive and you want to explore. We chose to park with the hotel and had our own garage! The room was beautiful, we booked a Ralph Lauren suite which was lovely, not a huge room but perfect for us, with a four poster bed, marble bathroom and jacuzzi bath. The best bed in a hotel I have ever slept in. The hotel's sitting room is stunning and their bar is beautifully elegant . Breakfast is just out of this world. Too many wonderful things to mention!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieandTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
472 reviews
0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel

Address: Pandreitje 16 | Flanders, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#16 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $185 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel, is a Leading Boutique Hotel, awarded by the Tatler Guide as 1 of the 101 best in the world. It is situated in an 18th C. carriage house and is beautifully decorated with antiques, objets d'art and stunning fabrics of Ralph Lauren. The 26 rooms offer all the comfort and have luxurious bathrooms. Full breakfast with waiter-service and Champagne is served in the breakfast room, where eggs are freshly prepared on granny's stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pand Hotel Small Luxury
Pandhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing