We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great hotel but mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I really want to love this hotel as the personnel and service are fantastic but a couple of things prevent me from doing so.

Pros
Fantastic service from a very professional staff. Nothing was too much trouble. They changed our room at our request after the first night (more on that later) without question and did their best to make sure we were happy.
Great location
Excellent breakfast
Small luxury boutique feel
Free wifi

Cons
Price for room size. Granted we had the smallest category of room (the Charming room) as the Deluxe category was sold out and we didn't feel like paying a ton more for a junior suite. The room was nice and well appointed but was TINY. There was a fold out luggage rack but you couldn't use it because there was no where to put it without blocking a door. They really should take out the small table and 2 chairs to allow for more space. The bathroom had everything you needed but was incredibly TINY. We had a stay 3 nights or more special but the cost was still $250 USD per night and I didn' think it was worth it.

Bed. It was as hard as a rock. We like a firm mattress but this was way too hard. They said all the beds were the same and just replaced last year. If you're a side sleeper your arm/sholder will go numb. After the first night, they put a blanket between the mattress and the sheet for us to add some cushion but it was nowhere near enough. We really didn't get much sleep because of this. With mattresses this hard they should have memory foam or down toppers available for those who are uncomfortable.

Room 102. We stayed in room 102 the first night and then moved to 202 for the remaining 2 nights. The reason is becuase you can hear the automatic sliding hotel entrance doors in this room. Not only the noise from them but also a minor vibration. Room 202 was very quiet though.

Sauna. One of the deciding factors in booking this hotel was the sauna - my husband loves them. The website did not say anything about cost but there is one - 40 euros! Now it is a private sauna which I am sure is nice but I would have liked if the cost was indicated on the website.

Ovearll this is a small luxury hotel with great staff, location and breakfast. However, due to the mattresses we didn't get any sleep. I also think the price point is off for the size room we had. We are Americans but have been living in Europe since 2004 so we know/anticipate the smaller room size but this was really small especially for the price paid (and we had a special).

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 due to automatic hotel entrance door noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank willisgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynevanhaecke, Manager at Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the luxury boutique feel, the
service, the breakfast and location.

Sorry that you found the mattress too hard. You said you were used at
soft mattresses at home.
You would not believe it but some peole think the mattresses are not
hard enough.

You will understand it is not possible to provide a mattress to every
new guest according to his or her DNA.
If you go to a Sleepy shop they would present you a very wide
selection, according to your personal preference.
Our mattresses have 550 feathers per m2, so this means that here is a
very good but also confortable support.

Our hotel sauna is only meant for private use (2 or 3 persons) and the
cost is mentioned on the website, in our brochure, and in the hotel
directory.

You stayed 3 nights and your average rate was 220 USD and not 250 USD.

Bruges is a medieval city and houses and hotels have another size and
scale than in the country side.
You can compare it to London or Paris. We have 3 sizes of rooms , each
time at their individual rate.
I can understand that you , being American, are used to bigger
dimensions in housing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    224
    53
    20
    7
See reviews for
118
884
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I had read excellent reviews of this hotel and was not disappointed. This hotel was gorgeous - the lounge area was beautiful, tastefully decorated and restful - a lovely place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine. The room was similarly well decorated and absolutely lovely. Would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others - fabulous location - a short walk (5 mins max) from heart of Bruges but still quiet and relaxing. The staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble and all the eateries they recommended were fantastic too.
A great find!!!

Room Tip: The junior suites are a little more expensive but still great value and they are beautifully decorat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 722michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

If you want a place to feel like home, this is a great option. It is very small, so employees know you and you dont have to remind them your room number at every restaurant charge for example. Location is great too. If you are arriving by car, make sure to reserve in advanced parking space since they are very limited. Suites if hired in the last minute deals webpage, are very worth.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosJavierViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We would sincerely like to thank all the staff we met for their friendliness and warmth throughout our stay.
We have been in quite a few hotels on our overseas trip and this is undoubtedly the friendliest, charming and most efficient for quality, service and beautiful surroundings.
Thank you for making our 30th wedding anniversary so special.
We have truly loved our stay in Brugge and would unreservedly recommend the Pand Hotel to all our family and friends.
PS. Thank you also, for the complimentary glasses of champagne.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

It's not a five star hotel, perhaps a boutique four star hotel.
We were expecting another kind of hotel.
Don't get me wrong, the hotel is luxurious and the service is attentive, but we found it a little "subpar" in comparison with other five star hotels we have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews we decided to stay at the Pandhotel for our honeymoon.
Although we got married in the summer, we waited until December to go on our honeymoon since my wife wanted to see Bruges during the Christmas period.
And it was worth the wait...
What an amazing hotel, in the most beautiful city in Europe!
Forget Paris, Bruges is where you need to be…this is where true romance can be found.
The Christmas decorations, the illuminations in the evening, the swans on the Lake of Love in the moonlight, the quaint little houses, this whole place is really amazing.
Words cannot express what a great time we had.
The service at the hotel is incredible. Everybody is extremely polite and go out of their way to assist.
Nothing is too much trouble. Some nice touches made our honeymoon extra special. Some complimentary Champagne, rose petals on the bed and some candles.
They allocated us one of the nicest Jr Suites, situated on the fourth floor with a breathtaking rooftop view.
Sitting in your bathtub overlooking the illuminated bell tower, drinking some of the finest Champagne, who could not get used to this?
The reception staff helped us book an exciting Segway tour and recommended some exquisite restaurants.
After a day of strolling through the city we sat in the lounge in front of the fireplace, having a hot chocolate, admiring the huge Christmas tree.
We had in-room breakfast which was served very efficiently and was delicious, the eggs yummy…
This stay was everything and more we wanted our honeymoon to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

To celebrate the New Year, me and my husband treated ourselves to a nice romantic weekend.

From the moment you arrive at the entrance of the Pandhotel, you are treated like royalty.

We arrived by car and immediately we were greeted and shown a parking space and the porter helped us with the luggage.

We had expected a good four star hotel but this is a four star hotel with five star service, they must have a word class training program for every staff member.

Everyone gives you the impression that they want you to have the time of your life, and we really did…

We had booked the Ralph Lauren Mastersuite and it was exquisite. The bedroom was unusually large for a boutique hotel. There was a sitting area with a flatscreen television, the granite bathroom was very spacious, with two sinks, a separate walk-in shower and a jacuzzi bath tub…if you want luxury, this is what you will get in this hotel. We had some Champagne out of the well stocked minibar and were so comfortable in the room we did not even want to go out for dinner anymore.

The room was decorated with very exclusive fabrics and the linen was immaculately clean.

Really we could not fault anything.

In the morning we were greeted by a lovely couple, serving the breakfast in a country-style breakfast room. We do not know if it were the fresh eggs and bread baked on the Aga stove which made the breakfast so special, or the friendliness and atmosphere but it this was the best breakfast we ever tasted.
We will recommend this hotel to all our friends and acquaintances and cannot wait to return to this fabulous place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel

Property: Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Address: Pandreitje 16 | Flanders, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#16 Business Hotel in Bruges
#19 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel, is a Leading Boutique Hotel, awarded by the Tatler Guide as 1 of the 101 best in the world. It is situated in an 18th C. carriage house and is beautifully decorated with antiques, objets d'art and stunning fabrics of Ralph Lauren. The 26 rooms offer all the comfort and have luxurious bathrooms. Full breakfast with waiter-service and Champagne is served in the breakfast room, where eggs are freshly prepared on granny's stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pand Hotel Small Luxury
Pandhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing