We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is a 4-5 star property right off the Markt square. As such, it is not cheap, but it is well worth the price.
There are options you can take advantage of to reduce your costs or upgrade your experience. We booked very early (in January for an August stay) and were able to take advantage of an Early Booking Upgrade Offer on the website. We booked a Superior Room at about 200 euros/night and were upgraded to a Deluxe Room, which turned out to be a suite with a fully seperate sitting room. This was Room 17. Ground Floor. Furnished in French empire style, but with two huge wall-mounted HD flat panels (bedroom and sitting room). Fully air-conditioned. An enormous walk-in closet, a deluxe bathroom that was as large as some entire hotel rooms we've had in European cities. The bath room included a large jacuzzi tub, a seperate 4' x 8' shower room, heated floors, double sinks, Hermes toiletries. Fruit bowl, bottled water, and chocolates were provided upon arrival. Each night turn-down service included more chocolate and small cut-glass decanters of port and champagne cognac.
Service at this hotel is impeccable, friendly and very accommodating. The reception personnel are your best option for selecting restaurants and obtaining reservations (Bruges is a busy tourist destination; if you want to dine - as opposed to grab a bite at one of the brasseries - you need reservations). I think they know someone at every place in town. They can also suggest and arrange activities and tours. Use them - they are knowledgable, have the connections, and are happy to provide the service.
There is a gourmet restaurant on the property, but we did not eat there, as we were trying to experience some of the excellent smaller restaurants on offer in Bruges. If we had stayed longer than two nights, we likely would have dined there, as the menu looked pretty good.
Finally, the hotel offers parking. It's about 20 euros a day. If you drive into Bruges, you'll need a place to store your car. You don't need the car in town. So I looked at the 20 euros/day as a secure storage fee. Seen that way, the price is quite reasonable.
In summary, if your travel style tends to the high end, Hotel Heritage will not disappoint. It is an excellent example of a Relais & Chateaux property.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

We encourage early booking in order to secure some of our best rates. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Bruges and our Relais & Châteaux hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights. The location could not be bettered as it is right round the corner from the main Square where the carriage rides depart from. The welcome we received was very friendly and not at all pretentious, as you sometimes find in hotels of this quality. From some previous reviews we were expecting the room to be small but it was not at all small for a city centre hotel. The room was very comfortable and well equipped for our needs. There are no Tea and Coffee making facilities however this would not put me off returning as you could select when you wanted this to be served in the mornings and a lovely tray complete with biscuits arrives. We made use of the underground valet parking which was really convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMC037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Our highest priority at the Hotel Heritage is to provide top personalized service, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us, so much as to share it here with other fellow travelers to Bruges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed 2 nights. Rooms are very pleasant but a little small. PC and free wifi is a nice extra. Very pleasant service and helpful staff makes the stay very enjoyable. Sauna and steam room are great. Public parking very close by and half the price of valet parking in the hotel - parking yourselves could save a few ££. Location is excellent. We really had a very relaxing stay in this hotel. The cycle shop next door excellent value and cycling is a great way to see the city and enable you to venture to the Netherlands!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gajolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

We are so pleased you enjoyed our downtown location in Bruges and look forward to your return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We had a suite with a beautiful room and a smaller room (supposed to be a small office) for my son both equiped with big 16/9 flat screens PLASMA TV. close to my sons bed was a BOSE radio with cd with an amazing sound. you can hear it loud it will not disturb anyone, the walls are real... The bathroom is equiped both with bath with jaccuzi + a top shower. All the bathroom products are made by Hermes and are really amazingly good quality.
The luxury was better than expected. They have a beautiful 13 century basement equiped with sport and training accessories, there is also the hammam and the sauna, all beautiful and extra clean. The hotel is not so big, but we felt better than at home...
the continental breakfast is more than enough unless you need 3 meals instead of one in the morning or if you REALLY need the english or dutch breakfast but as a european citizen the breakfast is more than enough : coffee, tea, warm chocolate for my son, different kind of breads, honey and jam, plus croissant s and chocolates croissants...
we enjoyend our stay very much and will recommend this hotel for friends or will even come back by ourselves when we have the time again

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy9835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Thank you again for staying with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's amenities ! We strive to provide our guests with the best and most memorable hotel experience in Bruges. Thank you for your review - we hope you will come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed 3 nights. Beds are excellent. PC and free wifi makes life even more pleasant. Continental breakfast is so-so. Very pleasant service. Public parking very close by. Location is excellent. We really had a very relaxing stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaSteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return to Bruges very soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Hotel by webpage promises a lot, but in fact rooms are VERY small, old fashioned and cheaply furnitured. That is not the worst part. Staff actually believes to be better than the guests. Bruges is lovely, try to find a better spot !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greet680682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to express your frustration of your recent experience in our hotel. We take our guests' comments and reviews very seriously and are very sorry you did not enjoy your time at the hotel. Specific to your comments, our furniture and room design are of superb quality. Also, keep in mind our building is a listed heritage site, which means we can make only certain alteration to the configuration of the rooms. Most of our guests expect an authentic Bruges luxury experience in our historic city, and we will continue to strive every day to provide our guests exactly that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We had just stayed one night in Brussels at a not-so-lovely hotel but I had no doubt we would love our 4 night stay at Hotel Heritage. We were warmly greeted by Isabelle and her staff. The lobby is so pretty as is the spacious breakfast room. Our room was everything I had hoped and even included a desktop computer for our use. We had a quiet room facing the back so we could sleep with the windows open without hearing any street noise. Breakfast is pricey so we only indulged twice but the food was excellent. I would definitely stay at Hotel Heritage if I am lucky enough to return to Brugge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to comment on your experience. It is great to see that our personalized service and amenities exceeded you expectations. We hope to welcome you again to the Hotel Heritage soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $188 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing