We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food.”
Review of Brasserie Medard

Brasserie Medard
Ranked #538 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely food.”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great tagliatelle carbonara. Simple food, great prices! Eat here when in Bruges! I can't recommend it enough. Cost less that 25 euros for four people. Quick tip - ring in advance to book. The owner speaks good English and apparently does not like walk-ins!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    6
    4
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Maybe the food is good and cheap, but who wants to be made to feel like dirt for the sake of cheap pasta? Avoid this unpleasant and rude place and splash the extra couple of euros at eating at Pasta Presto opposite where they will also offer delicious bolognese and with good service. Don't subsidise this obnoxious man's lifestyle until he stops being so hostile.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sph33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Who knows, couldn't get past the "gatekeeper"”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I went in early in the day to request a dinner reservation. First he pretended he didn't speak English, I think for the benefit and entertainment of a handful of his friends that were in the restaurant. Then he admitted he did speak English, what did I want (what did he think I wanted, I wondered?), so I politely asked if he would have an open reservation for that evening. "Done". I asked if I understood correctly that he was fully booked, no reservations available at all that evening, "Yes". I said "Okay, thank you anyway" and left. He didn't ask how many, or was I willing to come in early or late, or anything really. It didn't matter what I was there for: I wasn't going to get it. Check my many other reviews over the years and decide for yourself if I'm snooty or hard to get along with...I'm not, I'm far and away on the other end of the spectrum. Only thing I can think is that this guy has had his fill of Americans, or people that look like me, or for some other reason he just took immediate offense...no idea, as it was without doubt the rudest and most complete shut-down I've ever experienced. I do hear that he serves pretty good spaghetti, and his beer is cheap, if he decides he'll serve you, so you'll have to decide for yourself how badly you want what he may or may not have on offer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food, big portion, nicely priced”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Glad to have had this recommendation from Rick Steves, and lucky for me the restaurant had just reopened that day, after having been closed for some remodeling. I got the big plate (not "huge," but was still a huge portion), of hot, meaty spaghetti for only 3 euros and it so didn't disappoint! The sauce was great. I also dined next to an awesome local, elderly, retired postal worker who, after lunch, gave me a tour around Bruges. I don't drink, but my elderly friend told me the cherry beer was fantastic and a good cheap price. Totally great find for good food for a decent price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilyluvsafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We found this joint in the rick steves book, and would definitely recommend it. It had a nice family feel and was swarmed with locals when we went. A block of off market street and 4 euros for a huge bowl of spaghetti and a 1.50 euro beer you really can't go wrong.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oliver1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Medard also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Brasserie Medard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing