We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Met and exceeded all our expectations”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Steaklove...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Met and exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Duration of stay; April 3rd to 6th, 2017.
Firstly, a big thanks to the owner for his patience with all my questions and providing complete and thorough instructions with regards to this perfect house.
The location is excellent, the option of secure parking is worth the small extra charge, and the facilities within the house alongside all the personal little touches, truly make this a home away from home.
Well done, Richard. Please keep up the excellent work.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john h
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Not sure what else to add from what other reviews have already mentioned. A gem of a house, situated in a quiet area of Bruges but only a short walk to the main centre. A well equipped house and the hire of the garage for parking is to be recommended. We stayed for 3 nights in March and would definitely recommend this house to friends and family. Would love to visit Bruges again and this house would be our first choice to book.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimoon
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Perfectly formed and placed”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights at the Red House in February. The owner was a joy to deal with, very efficient, helpful and responsive. We also booked the garage which was great, we could leave the car and forget about it. The house is in walking distance to the central area along the beautiful canals. The house itself is set in a quiet cobbled street and has everything you need, well stocked cupboards and a fantastic DVD selection for cold rainy nights.

We enjoyed Bruge and the Red House and have already booked to return in July to hopefully enjoy this gorgeous city with a little sun .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayerss
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding, home from home”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Great location, away from the hustle and bustle of the centre which is just a short stroll away, over the canal. Windmills just a 5 minute walk the other way. Ideal base to explore everything Bruges has to offer. Bookable car parking (major benefit in Bruges) and a fully equipped house (note, there is no microwave/washing machine if that is something that you look for when on holiday) but everything else is there in abundance including a well stocked larder with all the basics meaning to don't have to start from scratch. The stairs take a bit of getting used to especially up to top floor, but add to the fun. Great communication with owner before completing booking and detailed guidance provided before arrival. We will definitely be back in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine0...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent location, fabulous hosts and everything you need to plan for your time in Bruges and surrounding area. No need for a visit to the Tourist Information Centre. All the guide books and information you need are already in the Red House. The weather was a bit wet whilst we were there but thanks to the umbrellas provided, we were able to get out and about. In between showers, we were able to make use of the bikes that were provided by Richard and Elizabeth. We felt just like locals! The house itself is well equipped and having access to a garage was ideal as we know from previous experience, parking in Bruges can be difficult. Location wise, a short stroll and you are in the centre of Bruges with access to a number of restaurants. However, we did try one of the local ones, close to the house, and although not an extensive menu, the food was excellent. I'd recommend the Flemish stew! All in all, highly recommended accommodation which we would have no hesitation in returning to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n0rthvill...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely house in a great area of Bruges”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Red House for a week in October 2016. We found the house to be well equipped and very comfortable. With secure parking nearby we found it the perfect place to visit Bruges.
Situated in a lovely area of Bruges, it was only a 10 min walk to the centre and 20 mins from the railway station from where we visited a few nearby towns. Rail travel very efficient and cheap.
Richard and Elisabeth were very helpful and the perfect hosts. We certainly recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in Bruges and to visit the surrounding area.
We will, hopefully, be returning for another stay in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central and lovely location of house
Liked least: Steep narrow stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvg87
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed here in a group of four (two couples) and we really loved the location of the house, the proximity to a secure parking space in a garage and the overall character and maintenance of the house. The house has a lovely kitchen and lounge area, which was a perfect space to relax, and is very close to the beautiful centre of Bruges. The house was generally clean, with a few small exceptions. These really were small things like a mascara stain on the mirror and a fairly dusty master bedroom - which caused me some issues with my asthma. Otherwise we really loved the house, and would love to stay again, provided a bit of extra care was taken with cleaning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing