We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant in every way”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
165 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 165 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ellidunca...
caerphilly
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant in every way”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The red house is perfect for a break in Bruges. We stayed in august and we're not disappointed. It's a 10 minute walk to the centre but we used the bikes on most occasions, they were a definite plus. All communication with the owner was quick and very helpful. I have even recommended it to friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaatk...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great house, close to the centre. Bikes were great fun to use and enabled us to see more of Bruges. No shortage of things to do in the area. A few little negatives; stairs very steep to attic room, no washing machine and bells ring every morning at 7 in local convent, BUT these negatives are far out weighed by all the property's good points!

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydiahaze...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homely cottage in the centre of a gorgeous city”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is very lovely little house right in the centre of Bruges. Not that you'd know it given how quiet the city is! I slept every night with my window wide open and rarely heard a sound. The house was clean and orderly on arrival and the wifi was very useful for keeping in touch with friends at home. The bikes in the shed were a huge help, it's so easy to cycle round the city and much quicker than walking.
Bruges is a beautiful city with a lot of it's attractions within easy walking/cycling distance of the Red House. We only used the car once in the holiday to go to Ypres, everything else we wanted to see was very close by.
Overall, we loved our stay here. We're already trying to work out when to come back!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith Y
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous house in a great location.”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

5 of us stayed in this absolutely gorgeous house a 10 minute walk from the centre of Bruges. It was far superior to a hotel and meant the children could go to bed and the adults could stay up and have a glass of wine (or two!). Lots of lovely little touches like tea, coffee and dishwasher tablets available to use, along with free Wi-Fi.. The local supermarket is also only a 5 minute walk and stocks most items. Would absolutely recommend this rental.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing, it was just about perfect.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooksley0...
Collegeville, PA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation for a Family of 4”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family of 4 had a delightful 3 night stay at The Red House in Bruges. The house had everything we needed (except for the linens which were an extra fee) and had an exceptional kitchen. It’s in a quiet part of town (away from the touristy hustle-bustle) but the Markt Square is a scenic 15-minute walk away. There are several restaurants and pubs within a 3 block radius that can be loosely defined as “local favorites” but don’t be deterred; we found all the locals to be friendly and welcoming and did not encounter anyone who didn’t speak English! Since we drove we used the owner-recommended private car park which was a one-minute walk from the house (very secure and convenient). Tip: 3 nights was not enough time to see/do everything we wanted to in Bruges. We would recommend The Red House to friends without hesitation.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were very comfortable.
Liked least: The 40 Euro cleaning fee for 3 nights was a bit steep.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
266ranj62
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really enjoyable weekend at "The Red House"”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

5 adults ( 2 couple and one single stayed at the Red House for a weekend. A great place to stay in - Highly Recommended. The other reviewers have said it all - a little things in the house made it home for us.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groundie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved every second of a six night stay here. Good kitchen for cooking in, great place from which to walk into historic centre (12 minutes), to get fit for all the eating... Only drawback is v steep top stairs but everything else wonderful. Even bikes included... Many thanks to the owners.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing