We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Accommodation for a Family of 4”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
157 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 157 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
cooksley0...
Collegeville, PA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation for a Family of 4”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family of 4 had a delightful 3 night stay at The Red House in Bruges. The house had everything we needed (except for the linens which were an extra fee) and had an exceptional kitchen. It’s in a quiet part of town (away from the touristy hustle-bustle) but the Markt Square is a scenic 15-minute walk away. There are several restaurants and pubs within a 3 block radius that can be loosely defined as “local favorites” but don’t be deterred; we found all the locals to be friendly and welcoming and did not encounter anyone who didn’t speak English! Since we drove we used the owner-recommended private car park which was a one-minute walk from the house (very secure and convenient). Tip: 3 nights was not enough time to see/do everything we wanted to in Bruges. We would recommend The Red House to friends without hesitation.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were very comfortable.
Liked least: The 40 Euro cleaning fee for 3 nights was a bit steep.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
266ranj62
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really enjoyable weekend at "The Red House"”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

5 adults ( 2 couple and one single stayed at the Red House for a weekend. A great place to stay in - Highly Recommended. The other reviewers have said it all - a little things in the house made it home for us.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groundie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved every second of a six night stay here. Good kitchen for cooking in, great place from which to walk into historic centre (12 minutes), to get fit for all the eating... Only drawback is v steep top stairs but everything else wonderful. Even bikes included... Many thanks to the owners.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian s
Weilerbach, Germany
1 review
“Awesome place and location; amazing customer service”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The location was great - just a short walk to the center of town. We used on-street parking, which was plentiful and easy, because our van was too big for the included garage, but having a personal parking garage spot included for the low price is a super deal. The place was beautiful for such a reasonable price. Richard was a great host and answered every question promptly and with great attention to detail. I would definitely stay here again if I can.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja P
Nottingham Uk
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This house has it all if you like self catering,super well equipped rooms,lovely shower/toilet,excellence kitchen,comfortable lounge, small seating outdoor area,Richard and Elizabeth have thought this through so well,its the best that we have ever seen or stayed in.well worth a visit,the car parking in the nearby garage is wonderful.Beautifully warm and welcoming,we will be coming back for another visit,Communication was excellence with the owners who provided an email and phone number.owners also provided excellent route instructions /maps and details.Wi fi was very good and free.thank you.Not that far away from the centre of Bruges, a pleasant walk.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin h
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No better way to stay in Bruges”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I visited the Red house at the beginning of March with two friends for a short 2 night stay.

The house is situated on an idyllic cobbled street and is impeccably presented both inside and out. The first floor has a spacious and comfortable living room which becomes a bit of a haven after working the extensive cobbled streets of Bruges with an extensive DVD collection should you wish to unwind in your down time. The first floor also has a full size kitchen, equipped with everything you would need to store and cook your own grocerys (from the nearby supermarket)

The first floor bedrooms have plenty of space with extremely comfortable beds in both.

The third floor master bedroom is beautiful and has an amazing view from the window which is just a pleasure to wake up to.

The house is situated about 10 minutes walk from the main city area which is really convenient.

After spending time here I have no idea why anybody would choose a different place to stay whilst spending time in Bruges. This has been one of the best accommodation choices in a long while and my whole group are itching to get back.

Richard was a pleasure to deal with offering extremely quick responses to all questions and queries.

A more authentic way to stay in Bruges does not exist, do yourself a favour and book this little beauty while you can as the dates gets snapped up pretty quick.

TIP: We ate at a nearby restaurant called "PRO DEO" which was literally 5 minutes door to door and the food, wine, atmosphere and service was amazing - Typical Flemish cuisine

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authenticity - All of it really
Liked least: Stairs to the master bedroom were a little steep
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroleand...
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Fabulous, cosy little house with excellent amenities in a delightful part of the city. It is a perfect base from which to explore Bruges and a delightful haven to return to after a busy day exploring (and beer tasting!). The market square is a 15-20 minute walk away, the nearest supermarket (Carrefour) and excellent bars and places to eat are all within a 5-10 minute stroll. If you arrive at Bruges railway station in the evening as we did, I would recommend taking a taxi direct to the address as the buses (4 and 14) stop a little way away. Many thanks to owners Richard and Elizabeth - we do hope we can return!

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing