We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect....”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
143 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 143 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
midganj
midganj
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect....”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Red House, couldn't be happier. My friends & I were bowled over by this charming little place, spotlessy clean, fantastic location & a real gem, so cosy. There was the added bonus of a garage too which made life so easy.
Big thank you to the owner Richard who was a pleasure to deal with, we shall definitely be returning next year & will be recommending this place to all our friends.
We've been to Brugge many times, just wish we'd found this place sooner, superb value for money, couldn't fault it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character & location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demetrius...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The IncREDible House”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about The Red House! From it's fantastic location, just minutes walk to anywhere you would want to visit in Bruges but on a quiet enough street that there is no noise at night... to it's beautiful decor, modernisation, cleanliness and homely feel.

The owner had kindly thought of everything we could need to make our stay more enjoyable, including an endless supply of DVDs, free use of bicycles of various sizes, lots of books to read, great information about Bruges, things to do and things we needed to know about the house, and cupboards stocked with basic items like coffee and sugar.

It was so lovely to stay in a house, rather than a hotel, and after a day of walking around the stunning little city that is Bruges, to be able to come back to a place that started to feel like home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacktim
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another great stay!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is the third time staying at the Red House and this time I was with my lovely friends. The house is perfectly located, just outside the centre but within easy walking distance. The use of the garage this year was great and once the car was parked we could enjoy the sights of Bruges without worrying. The house is perfect for couples, families or friends and is really home from home including cleaning materials, cupboard items such as tea and coffee etc. dvds, books, games and bikes. Richard also has a good supply of maps and books on Bruges. No need to take your own. There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance, although if you are staying for a long period, i would suggest supermarket shop before you arrive. I would recommend the Bistro Den Huzar for a authentic flemish meal, but reserve a table in advance and for breakfast there is a fantastic patisserie a few doors away from the Den Huzar which serves the best hot chocolate you have tasted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeipzigCa...
Leipzig
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed this very well and thoughtfully equipped house. The street is central, really 2 mins walk to the Market Place, but very quiet.

We enjoyed using the bikes to cycle around the countryside. The Belgians understand what a cycle path can be, safe for small kids! The coast and canals are easy!

A week without internet or tv was hard but the dvd's available were great and the pub round the corner has wifi for the price of a beer!

The stairs, especially to the exquisite main bedroom require care.

Many thanks to the owners

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivien C
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful base for a break in Bruges”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our second visit to The Red House, this time with our son and his family. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, both to Bruges and The Red House. Everything was clean and to our liking, and the property is so convenient, being only a short walk from the centre of Bruges and it's many attractions. Thank you once again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelshGeor...
Bristol, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a fantastic house in a fantastic location, easy to get to especially with the one way system around Bruges and being able to park the car in the secure garage was a definite bonus.

The walk into the centre of Bruges was a pleasant 10 min stroll through residential streets with different architecture in each one.

I would highly recommend this property and we hope to come back again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHAQ_72
Wednesbury
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed he with my family in May 2014 and had a great time.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booking was easy and details before we traveled were provided in a timely and friendly manner.
On arrival we found the accommodation easily using Satnav, access was easy with the electronic keypad and garage parking was close by and easily found.
The house was clean and comfortable inside with a vast array of DVD's and books should you find time with all the sight seeing on your doorstop.
All facilities worked fine, shower was hot and beds were comfortable. Stairs are tight and narrow so care to be had with youngsters.
All in all I cannot fault the accommodation, Richard was pleasant and friendly to deal with before we arrived and the accommodation was everything we hoped for.
When searching for properties in Brugges this was priced at the lower end of the scale so there was a fear that there was a reason for that but glad to say that it turns out to be excellent value.
Hope for a repeat visit soon....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing