We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stayed he with my family in May 2014 and had a...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
145 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 145 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SHAQ_72
Wednesbury
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed he with my family in May 2014 and had a great time.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booking was easy and details before we traveled were provided in a timely and friendly manner.
On arrival we found the accommodation easily using Satnav, access was easy with the electronic keypad and garage parking was close by and easily found.
The house was clean and comfortable inside with a vast array of DVD's and books should you find time with all the sight seeing on your doorstop.
All facilities worked fine, shower was hot and beds were comfortable. Stairs are tight and narrow so care to be had with youngsters.
All in all I cannot fault the accommodation, Richard was pleasant and friendly to deal with before we arrived and the accommodation was everything we hoped for.
When searching for properties in Brugges this was priced at the lower end of the scale so there was a fear that there was a reason for that but glad to say that it turns out to be excellent value.
Hope for a repeat visit soon....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poodleby
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Lovely House - Great Value”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I've stayed here about 4 times. We love the Red House. The English owner (Richard) is extremely helpful, efficient and professional. A pretty, quiet area. An authentic experience of staying in an historical building. It's cheaper than a bed in an Ibis! Modern kitchen, heating, 3 bedrooms. The bikes are free of charge to use. One day we rode beyond the Dutch border. No cars. Just a cycle path next to the river flanked by tall trees. Stunning and very flat for those who dislike hills!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the fact that it is always booked!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Red House is Amazing”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Meant to write this review ages ago but somehow it slipped my mind. Richard and Elizabeth Maddox have the perfect house for anyone to visit Bruges. It is in St. Anna, which is a slightly more removed Northern Suburb of the historical centre. The location is perfect, with a nearby carrefour express, surrounded by nice bars including the Windmollen cafe, the windmills themselves, and a direct walk/cycle from the museums etc. Everything else about the house is perfect too, from the selection of books and DVDs to the cute little terrace to the well stocked cupboards and handy bikes and Bruges guidebooks and tips. Especially considering the price, you have to stay here.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelMaw
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect break with lots to see and time to relax”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Booking this trip was easy and Richard was brilliant at answering any questions I had.

The Red House is beautiful with all you need for a relaxing break away. The main bedroom is beautifully peaceful with its views of the sky and roofline. We made good use of the DVDs and books and there are games if you have the energy after all the sightseeing.

The house is perfectly located for touring Bruge especially if you make use of the bikes.
There are plenty of places to eat out and generally the standard of food is good. Every corner you turn there is something interesting to see from beautiful architecture to following the canals or just sitting in a café and people watching.

We took the car via the tunnel and really can't believe how quick and easy it was to travel.

This was a perfect break away and I would definitely recommend the Red House for your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable ,well equipped house in excellent position to explore Bruges on foot or cycles.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this 'home from home' as a relaxing and economical base from which to explore Bruges and district in our own car which was safely garaged!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Position,warmth ,cleanliness, kitchen equipment and extras...tea ,coffee,seasonings etc etc etc
Liked least: Low settees,steep stairs,no TV programmes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So good, we've been there twice!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Yet again, the perfect place to stay - clean, tidy and well equipped, the location is ideal, very central but with the feeling of being in a peaceful village too - it completes the holiday, making it extra special. Lovely to see Bruges in all it's festive glory and we are all looking forward to visiting again in the autumn. Thankyou once again Richard and Elizabeth for letting us enjoy your 'slice of heaven and relaxation' in Bruges!! Never fails to exceed expectations. (So sorry I hadn't written this review sooner as promised! )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to the Red House in Bruges, once in the summer of 2009 and recently for new year 2011/12 and 2013/14. This property never disappoints, immaculately kept with a whole host of creature comforts and extras. The attic bedroom is stunning and has great views over Bruges. The recent addition of a garage makes life very easy (parking in Bruges is not the easiest) This time the only time we even saw our car was for an excursion to Ostend.
at a 10 minute walk Bruges centre is very accessible from the Red House with many sights and good dining.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing