We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect break with lots to see and time to...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MelMaw
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect break with lots to see and time to relax”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Booking this trip was easy and Richard was brilliant at answering any questions I had.

The Red House is beautiful with all you need for a relaxing break away. The main bedroom is beautifully peaceful with its views of the sky and roofline. We made good use of the DVDs and books and there are games if you have the energy after all the sightseeing.

The house is perfectly located for touring Bruge especially if you make use of the bikes.
There are plenty of places to eat out and generally the standard of food is good. Every corner you turn there is something interesting to see from beautiful architecture to following the canals or just sitting in a café and people watching.

We took the car via the tunnel and really can't believe how quick and easy it was to travel.

This was a perfect break away and I would definitely recommend the Red House for your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable ,well equipped house in excellent position to explore Bruges on foot or cycles.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this 'home from home' as a relaxing and economical base from which to explore Bruges and district in our own car which was safely garaged!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Position,warmth ,cleanliness, kitchen equipment and extras...tea ,coffee,seasonings etc etc etc
Liked least: Low settees,steep stairs,no TV programmes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So good, we've been there twice!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Yet again, the perfect place to stay - clean, tidy and well equipped, the location is ideal, very central but with the feeling of being in a peaceful village too - it completes the holiday, making it extra special. Lovely to see Bruges in all it's festive glory and we are all looking forward to visiting again in the autumn. Thankyou once again Richard and Elizabeth for letting us enjoy your 'slice of heaven and relaxation' in Bruges!! Never fails to exceed expectations. (So sorry I hadn't written this review sooner as promised! )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to the Red House in Bruges, once in the summer of 2009 and recently for new year 2011/12 and 2013/14. This property never disappoints, immaculately kept with a whole host of creature comforts and extras. The attic bedroom is stunning and has great views over Bruges. The recent addition of a garage makes life very easy (parking in Bruges is not the easiest) This time the only time we even saw our car was for an excursion to Ostend.
at a 10 minute walk Bruges centre is very accessible from the Red House with many sights and good dining.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruthemorr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 3 nights at The Red House in Bruge. Everything we could have possibly wanted was there, we took advantage of the fantastic heating and DVD selection and stayed in to cook and relax after a days sight seeing. We cycled all around Bruges and had a fantastic stay. The house is just wonderful and in a nice quiet location but only 5/10 minute walk from everything. Great for families, groups or even just a couple as we are. We took advantage and even had a dressing room each! I'd highly reccomend this place for short or even longer breaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally G
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable - a real delight”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our first trip to the Red House in Bruges - and will definitely go back. The house is spotlessly clean and well equipped - with lots of extras provided.
The master bedroom has fabulous views across the roof tops of Bruges and I can safely say the bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in whilst on holiday.
It is well positioned on a beautiful cobbled street on the outskirts of town - within easy walking distance to all the main attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean and well equipped for EG. food staples, books, games, bikes DVDs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla H
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just home from a great long weekend in the Red House. It was absolutely perfect for our needs, clean, modern and with plenty of space for four adults with a very well equipped kitchen. Having the garage parking so close is great as we could park up and walk in to the centre every day (only 10-15 mins).
Highly recommended to anyone who is thinking of booking here

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing