We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding rack of lamb and lovely ambiance”
Review of Brasserie Raymond

Brasserie Raymond
Ranked #49 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding rack of lamb and lovely ambiance”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were lucky to get a table on a Saturday night. We had the most magnificent meal. The rack of lamb was the best we have had anywhere. It was served with wonderfully seasoned vegetables and potatoes Dauphine that were also superb. Lovely ambiance, attentive service, will definitely go back on our next trip to Bruges.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    225
    57
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, HUGE portions.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our first night in Bruges after out hotel recommended it.
The food and service was excellent, in fact my rack of lamb was some of the best lamb I've ever eaten.
I'd also highly recommend the bone marrow starter, it's a sight to behold and taste!
One word of warning, the portions are MASSIVE.
We both love our food but really struggled to finish even 2 courses.
Maybe avoid the bread and share a starter and you may have enough room for a dessert!
(It doesn't help that the bread comes with a delicious complimentary pork rillettes!)
One final tip, we asked for a red wine recommendation and ended up having the best wine we had on our trip, a lovely Domaine Lafage Côtes Du Roussilon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dansmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, MA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant--great service!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Brugge is one of our favorite places; we have visited often, but had never tried this wonderful Brasserie. At the recommendation of our B & B (#1) hosts, a table was reserved, and we were seated for dinner very promptly. The service at the restaurant was superb and attentive, we were offered warm breads, butter, olives and rillette of pork (scrumptious) as we ordered local beers. Wonderful menu items from which to chose, and we both decided on marrow bones as our appetizer. The waiter suggested that we share as the serving was generous--an accurate description. It was quite delicious served with toast points, side salad, and bowls of cracked pepper and sea salt for sprinkling (marrowbone with toast and coarse sea salt € 12). For our mains we chose steak tartare (steak tartare prepared at the table, with fresh chips € 22) and rack of lamb (rack of lamb with seasonal vegetables € 28). Both dinners were wonderful, the tartare was just as I love it, and my husband's lamb ribs were divided into pairs, cooked perfectly to a red center, and served over a bed of numerous types of mushrooms, baby carrots and haricots verts--spectacular display and flavorful. As our servings were generous, we did not have room for dessert. Lots of locals and regulars were welcomed by the staff while we were there, and the location, which is not far from the centre, is easily reached. We will certainly return on our next visit to Brugge. Thank you, Brasserie Raymond!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the2vus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, good service, delightful food”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food beautifully prepared and presented, just be aware that the dishes are not only excellent in quality but also generous in quantity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DKNSt_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A taste of Bruges”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate twice at this well positioned 'French style' brasserie (with a Belgian slant) during our 2 day visit and have dined on a previous trip to Bruges. Food was excellent and the service attentive but efficient. The window seat is good for watching the world go by and we were all the more pleased with the service as we were a family group with a 2 year old with all the extra fun that can be - the chef produced a special meal for the little one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crouchend7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Raymond also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Brasserie Raymond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing