We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant with great host & nice food!”
Review of Cafe 't Zand

Cafe 't Zand
Ranked #457 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Restaurant details
Waarschoot, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great restaurant with great host & nice food!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

a must-visit place when you're in the brugge area.
the owner of the hotel & restaurant is treating you as you are a guest in there home...
even showed us the suites and guided us around ourselves.

food was delicious and definitly at a correct price.

thanks alot Rabih & team for this great visit!
Steven

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven_De_Coninck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A really good Flemish stew and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The service was fast and friendly. We wanted to try a typical Flemish stew and we were not disappointed. It was very tasty and came with apple sauce, which was a perfect accompaniment, and the chips were good. One of our party only ordered chips as they weren't feeling well, they were treated with equal attention and politeness. We tried to recreate the dish at home - didn't get anywhere close. The person who missed out is still feeling cheated. The prices were very reasonable. I would really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroppy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

In Bruges for a day trip and wandered in here for lunch....good decision.
Large variety of local beers to sample. We decided to have the 1.2 kilo portion of mussels and chips to share as a main so chose a couple of starters off the "finger food" menu. We thought that, as we were sharing a main, the waiter had taken a liberty and given us 2 starters each (olives and cold meats platter) as the olives came in 2 dishes and the meat platter was huge. But no, these were single portion starters of each...very impressed. The moules were delicious and the portion was more than enough for 2. €45 for the 2 of us including 3 beers and a glass of wine. Tremendous value. Staff very nice too. Don't walk by, try it for yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormborn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Cafe 't Zand is situated in the middle of a group of typical tourist restaurants so we weren't expecting fine dining but looks can be deceiving. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The staff were very good too. We would certainly visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vendee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As frequent travellers to Bruges, we always make a beeline to the cafe at the tZAND. Delicious, freshly prepared food is always served with a smile by the hard working waiters. I can't wait to go back again !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vintagetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 't Zand also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Cafe 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing