We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heart of” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 't Vagevuur

't Vagevuur
Ranked #150 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
cabo san lucas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Heart of”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

In middle, cute and singular place
I find tuis place the first nitgh, great ubication
Was a busy day, but evething was OK

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moniclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    163
    53
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed impressions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pleased to find this place available on a Sunday night-a small local restaurant worth the very short walk from the tourist trap restaurants on Markt square. Good mixed menu with a few trappist ales to go with the Belgian food. Being asked to wait a few minutes for our reserved table and the number of customers for one waiter gave us concern that service may be slow but this wasn't the case. We enjoyed our meals but were very surprised when the waiter stood at the table counting out the money we had paid while we were still sat talking. We obviously weren't rushing off anywhere and being given the impression that we weren't trustworthy left a sour taste at the end of our visit. Overall OK but don't think any of our group would be heading back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TopHat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great flemish stew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Went here on our first night in Bruges and the flemish stew was great. The service was excellent and friendly, very busy but were not kept waiting. A 3 course set meal was 19 euros, add a bottle of house red and what more could you ask for. So we went back again on our last night. very good

Helpful?
Thank jonvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very friendly restaurant in the cedntre of Bruges. Good amazing and 20 Euro menus offering amazing food including Moules and steak - staff very polie - a definite must for dining whilst in Bruges

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, West Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good mussels, reasonable prices for Belgium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were in Bruges in a very cold spell in February. We tried this restaurant as the two course meal deal for 23 Euros was good value by Belgian standards. We had moules frites. The mussels were very large and juicy, and the portions were nice and big. We were also provided with a very large dish of chips. The chocolate mousse for pudding was very tasty, again plenty of it and it appeared to be home made. The resturant decor is traditional and cosy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penders65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Vagevuur also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Vagevuur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing