We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
Review of Bittersweet - CLOSED

Bittersweet
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

On a rainy, windy, cold day the hot chocolate here was just what I needed! It was the best hot chocolate I've ever had. The best part was the fun of dropping your own chocolate flower in and stirring to watch the milk turn to chocolate! Complete with a little bowl of marshmallows this was a fantastic trip. We were lucky and it wasn't busy, probably due to the weather as I have heard it can get very busy there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewfieGirl2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    41
    7
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chocolate tulips”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We first visited Bittersweet a couple of years ago when we visited Bruges. That was my first introduction to the chocolate tulip, and I have never forgotten it. When we visited Bruges again with friends, we just had to take them to this very special little cafe. It was very busy, and we had to wait for a table for the 4 of us, but it was well worth the wait. We were made very welcome and everyone was very friendly. The chocolate tulip was every bit as good as I remembered from our last visit. By far the best hot chocolate! We tried a couple of other establishments as well, but they were not a patch on this one. There is something so special about putting that chocolate filled tulip into the hot milk and watching it all blend together. The taste is then superb.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great lunch...”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have been here twice for hot chocolate, which is gorgeous. As we got up late and missed breakfast decided to go for lunch, it was delicious. I had a salad followed by lasagne, my husband had onion soup followed by chicken pasta, everything was excellent, really tasty. The lady owner is lovely and friendly and makes you feel very welcome. Will definitely visit here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swithjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place and Fun for Little Girls”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Took my little girl here for "Tea" in the afternoon. Its a really cute place for little girls to have the Tea experience. She got Hot Chocolate that was AMAZING! it comes in a chocolate flower that you drop in hot milk.

The Owner speaks really good english which was nice also..

Really busy so make an appt or drop by to reserve a time

Nice Staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely breakfast here, and had the infamous chocolate tulip. Great attention to detail and fantastic rhubarb jam.

Helpful?
Thank CMM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bittersweet also viewed

 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing