We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our most favourite place to eat in Bruges”
Review of Bittersweet - CLOSED

Bittersweet
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our most favourite place to eat in Bruges”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very personable and efficient service. Loved all the little extra nibbles and marshmallows. Even a toasted sandwich is beautifully presented. Favourite was the beautiful chocolate tulip that when dunked in hot milk becomes the most indulgent hot chocolate drink with mini marshmallows on top. An experience my daughter will always remember.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wendypenrose2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    41
    7
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went to bittersweet with two friends of mine. After sitting there waiting for 15 minutes, the owner (who wasn't doing a thing) came to clean our table from the previous guests. But then we still hadn't got the menu to have a look at. After again ten minutes of sitting there I grabbed the menu myself. We decided to have some hot chocolate, coffee and cappucino and some pancakes. They were nice, nothing more to say about that. But then, 3 Chinese girls entered, after being rejected a first time. The owner started talking to them in Dutch, just to scare them off I think, because she knew they didn't speak Flemish. I was really disappointed in the attitude of the owners.
They will never see me again, and would certainly not recommend this to any one!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BrugesVisitor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate, best ever”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited here back in Nov 2011(better late than never) after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. The owner(forgotten her name, sorry) was lovely and you can see her personality is poured into this charming little place. We had a savoury selection the first time we visited and the bread was beautifully fresh and warm. The second time was for breakfast, also excellent.
But the absolute highlight both times was the hot chocolate. You can have a white, light or dark chocolate rose bomb dropped into your hot milk. We tried light and dark and though both were lush, we decided the dark was best. Seriously, its the best hot choc we have ever had.
Top Notch.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perivalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou County, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were greeted by the very friendly owner as her first guests of the day. We sat in the window and ordered the small breakfast with delicious croissants, rhubarb jam, cheeses and coffee. Even although the room was filling up quickly, the lone hostess offered to refill our coffees even as she wheeled freely amongst her guests delivering items, or removing well-cleaned plates. We even had delicious and quite alcohol-laden egg nog. If we could have gone back for another meal, we would have but it was our last few ours in Bruges. Merci, Madame!

Helpful?
Thank Lyons_Brook_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic...must visit!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having read good reviews, we decided to try this place for lunch when we happened to walk past it not long after arriving in Bruges. The cafe is small but charming and the owner made us very welcome, storing our luggage out the way, explaining the specials board in English for us and encouraging us to take as long as needed to decide - a nice touch since the place was full and people were being turned away. We had a beautiful lunch - salad and home made lasagne along with hot chocolate to die for and a local beer as recommended by the owner. In fact it was so good we returned the following afternoon for hot waffles and chocolate sauce along with more hot chocolates - delicious. One of the highlights of Bruges for us, delicious food, lovely place and very friendly service - loved it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bittersweet also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing