We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Bittersweet - CLOSED

Bittersweet
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you want to try the most amazing hot chocolate and waffles in Belgium, go to bittersweet. I loved the character of this cafe also- very homely and full of charm. Had we more time in Brugge, we would've definitely returned for more! Hot chocolate was the best ive tasted, ever. Please, open one in brisbane?

Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    41
    7
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Cafe”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stopped here for tea and a snack. I had the hot chocolate and a waffle which was delicious and my gf had the pot of natural tea and selection of mini pastries. The presentation of the food was perfect and everything tasted great! Would definitely recommend coming here for a sweet treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeighDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This small and intimate modern cafe is a delight.
Small breakfast is superb value and everything is top quality. Really fresh, but it's the little touches and friendliness that makes your visit memorable.
HAVE THE HOT CHOCOLATE!!! And be surprised
A truly lovely place just 1 minute from the Markt

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best service food, must visit!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The restaurant was simply a great experience - the food, service and location was simply excellent! I had the shrimp pasta with creamy dreamy tomato sauce and waffles with banana,chocolate and cream, and egg nog, and the beautiful caramel vanilla latte! Believe it or not I finished off with vanilla tea! My boyfriend had pasta with chicken,bacon and ham with creamy sauce.. Definately recommend this place! Lunch only served till 2 pm and deserts waffles tea are served after! Thank you we are definately coming back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“LOVE.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

love. 100% love.

this entire cafe screams adorable and everything out of the kitchen we ordered was not only delicious but also beautifully presented.

i ordered a milk hot chocolate which was fabulous, and a sandwich for lunch- it had some kind of cured ham inside plus goat cheese and honey. delicious. my bf got an omelette which he also thought was very good. we shared a waffle with nutella for dessert and also ordered coffee. it was the BEST WAFFLE we had EVER had. it gave a whole new meaning to the concept of a belgian waffle. all belgian waffles made in the USA should be ashamed of themselves, as they are clearly inferior!! all our beverages were served on small silver trays and accompanied by little tasty treats.

service was also great. wish i could go back right now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bittersweet also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing