We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant De Wijngaert

Restaurant De Wijngaert
Ranked #88 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Belgian, Barbecue, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Tiny family run grill restaurant. Fantastic meat, will do croquettes and baked potatoes if you are sick of frites. We went two nights on the trot and would have gone on Wednesday but they were closed. I had the fish kebab and meat kebab and husband had the steak and the lamb rack - fab flavour. Great garlic bread - wish they had one in England.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WettonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    75
    19
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Last Night in Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was our last night in Bruges yes it was still raining, we needed something special to celebrate our wet weekend. Karen from the "T Fonduehuisje" had recommended the "De Wijngaert" because we fancied a really good steak, she was absolutely spot on the restaurant was small but had a great atmosphere, cosy and warm.
We all chose various cuts of Steak with Robin deciding he was having a Rack of Lamb, Vic tried to follow suit but was told their was only one left so he had to have steak but he wasn't disapointed it was superb and Robin really enjoyed his Lamb, overall it was a great meal with very friendly service a really good night was had by all.
We chatted with the staff before leaving and I'm sure when we return to Bruges we will visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ok food was tasty, but... We wanted a light lunch so ordered a mixed fish kebab to share. I asked if it included frites or salad and was told yes - if I ordered two! I thought perhaps something had been lost in translation so made clear I wanted frites which duly arrived. We were of course charged extra for these so apparently menu items change depending on how many you order! Odd and annoying but this attitude is common in every city where tourists predominate, they don't need to worry about repeat custom. The truly good restaurants do not have this attitude and this one is pretty average.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bar b q is not the word”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Seen in the información that it was a Bar B Q really did not bring my atention to his place but walking by and looking inside reaveled that it really was an open wood burning oven, sorry but not the same.

What a wonderful place, very small and intimate, maybe too intimate, but the food preparation is outstanding, had several dishes that I split with my wife and the were all good or above, prices are reasonable for the area but portions are better than average size.

Very attentive service and fairly priced wine list, don't know if you could do better but maybe hard to beat.

Helpful?
Thank Cenadorvitalicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

small and intimate food cooked on grill very nice. Friendly good chocie of whisky. The grill is log fired.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant De Wijngaert also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Wijngaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing