We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!”
Review of Pietje Pek

Pietje Pek
Ranked #183 of 724 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was a little skeptical from some of the reviews, but this was a pleasant meal. The service was a little slow, but the restaurant was busy and the waiter was alone! He apologized, but deftly handled the restaurant considering he was by himself. He was concerned that we enjoyed our meal and the chef came out to check, as well. My fish casserole was delicious! I would go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    113
    36
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like visiting an old friend”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

You stand outside this small restaurant and look into a world gone by.The decor is like an old bistro of a film set. You enter and from the reception you receive you know its a place you want to a couple of hours in and enjoy a good meal. This not an high pressure fast food restaurant the service is very good and the food I feel is some of the best food of its type in Bruges, local fare cooked very well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, great food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We wandered in on a chilly Sunday and it was warm, welcoming and cosy and the food was delicious. Not being fondue fans we opted for the salmon and cod Waterzooi which was amazing. Very generous portions and great wine and beer, We will be back,so thank you! For those planning to go over to commemorate WW1 they are planning an appropriate menu and are happy to welcome groups so book ahead and enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Bruges”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We turned up unannounced as a group of 14 on a Saturday evening and they immediately accommodated us by rearranging their tables.
The service was incredible , especially when you realize how small the team is.
The waiter was charming and helpful and the food was second to none. Between us we had the whole menu and everything exceeded expectations. The fondues were to die for, as were the tradition Belgian stews. The chef came out to check on us after the meal and to offer us a selection of stunning deserts.

Overall, the best place we have eaten in Bruges, lovely atmosphere, superb food and great service. Highly recommend.

Lexei

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meat fondue has no cheese!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice restaurant and decent service, but just to be warned when ordering a meat fondue you have no cheese and basically just cook your own meat in oil and have sauces and some chips. If you want the proper cheese fondue you have to have the vegetarian option. Its a shame you couldnt combine the both as Im sure alot of people would have preferred that. If you go in a group I would recommend to order cheese and meat fondue so you have a variety and are not disappointed! Be warned the cheese fondue only comes with bread and a bit of ham!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietje Pek also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Pietje Pek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing