We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxurious, but perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Ranked #51 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not luxurious, but perfect”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was with some trepidation that I booked a night at the Ibis Budget in Brugge, but we found ourselves pleasantly surprised. I had heeded the warnings that it is hard to find, but pretty simple really. Come out of the train station, turn right, up the escalators, past some shops and then into one of two lifts that will take you up a level and straight across a courtyard to the welcoming lobby of the Ibis Budget.

The reception staff were very friendly and immediately provided us with a local map, discount card and a code to get into our room. We knew the room would be basic, and it was, but highly functional and clean. In the air conditioned room, there was a simple double bed, a large in-room shower, a lavatory cubical and a post that had a dressing mirror on one side and sink on the other. The shower contained a shower gel dispenser so we used that for soap at the sink. The seats were somewhat like two upside down rubbish bins. Some may not like this rather utilitarian design, but we found it almost charming.

It is not too far from the City Centre. Just walk across the station promenade and cross the road to the path that goes through the park area. After about 5-10 minutes you will come to the music hall and some cafes. Walk past the cafes and turn right, and you will end up at the Market square, if that is where you want to go.

Our room was on the courtyard side and was very quiet and made a nice respite from the hottest day of the year in Brugge. The shower had good pressure with its LED lit shower head (we ended up buying one).

In the morning we thought we would try the €7.50 breakfast. The smallish breakfast room was very busy on a Sunday morning. If you want a fry-up, you will not get this, but a selection of breads, cheeses, hams, fruit and yoghurt. There were also two juice dispensers and a couple of coffee machines that produced the usual variety of cappuccinos, lattes, etc. Credit must be given to Lina, who handled breakfast on her own, putting up with some quite rude and demanding guests.

All in all, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel, as long as you are not looking for luxury. It is clean and comfortable and has everything you would need for a night’s sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinoHills-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    1,889
    764
    161
    63
See reviews for
723
1,969
225
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is well located, it's right next to the train station and is across the street from the visiting area of Brugge. I arrived by car and it is very easy to park, in the station right in front of the hotel and it only costs 3.50€ for 24hours. From there you can easily walk to visit the city.

Rooms are clean as usual in these chain of hotels, it seems to be pretty new, so everything looked fine. The room was very quiet even with the train station being right next to the hotel which surprised me in a good way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcnflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Positive: good room, good beds
Negative: breakfast for children [from age 1] costs 7,50 Euro, same price as adults - breakfast buffet, all you can eat. Not really 'budget' for families with small children. A discount for children under age 12 would be nice and make the stay for families with young children more enjoyable and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasselt_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nghts while biking through Belgium and were pleasantly surprised at what we got for our money; clean, stylish, modern rooms, friendly staff and a central location to name a few highlights. Don't be put off by the word "budget", this Hotel is worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taahia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were on a mini cruise and stayed for one night in Bruges. This Hotel is excellent if you are on the P&O Mini Cruise from Hull, as it is literally 2 minutes walk from where the bus drops of and picks you up. You cross the road and climb the stairs and you are there.
The hotel is modern and functional, rooms are fine, with shower and toilet some funky lighting and a shower head that light up with the water temperature. Note if you are not a couple or good friends the shower is in the room with just some tinted glass seperating, so if you like your privacy, maybe not for you. There is no storage apart from some hooks and shelf so not sure how you would do for a week, but for a short break it was ideal.It is about a 15 minute walk to the central square in Bruges and there are a number of ways you can walk to get there. Did not use there breakfast service as there are a number of cheaper options around, especially in the train station right next door.Would recomend this for a short stay especially as i said if you are off the hull ferry, you do not need to carry your luggage far and they have a left luggage room for your use. Staff were efficent, in fact we went to leave our bags at 10.00 am and come back to book in later but were given the room straight away, check out is by 12.00 but if you are there after 9.00 put the card on the door or the cleaners will be in.Would definately use this hotel again for a short break. Bruges itself was good but a lot busier than i was expecting and almost no-where is traffic free, even the main square has taxis,scooters,bikes,horses and at one point an artic cutting throughit. Another point to our disapointment is that a large selection of the bars and restaurants close at night this seems to be mainly a day trippers resort, the centre and surrounding areas were dead from 7.30 0nwards, there are restaurants etc about but you have to look for them.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is on to railway station but with windows closed it was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheapandcheerfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#47 of 97 in Bruges
2,247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#67 of 97 in Bruges
606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,872 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station

Property: Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Address: Marie Popelinplantsoen 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel Brugge Centrum Station)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station 1*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station is located in the center of Bruges, right next to the train station, in a newly built complex "Groen Brugge." Because of this central location, the hotel is ideally situated both for a business visit or a tourist trip to Bruges. Most of this beautiful city’s attractions such as the Belfort, Our Lady’s church and the Love Lake are situated within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 184 rooms with different types that can welcome 1, 2 or 3 guests. All of these rooms have a modern design with soft and relaxing colors, several light points, shower separate restroom. Both in the lobby as well as in the rooms WIFI wireless internet connection is available. Vending machines with drinks and snacks can be found near the reception. From the complex "Groen Brugge" you have direct access to the public parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing