We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Flemish Food, try it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of pro Deo

pro Deo
Ranked #4 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Catterick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Flemish Food, try it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Definitely need a reservation to get in here. Went with my wife and had a lovely time. The food is excellent and the staff were very helpful. You would not think it but the jacket potato starter could be so tasty. The wine was lovely and the Flemish stew was really nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    178
    35
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed, Great Service & Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was our 6th time in Bruges but only the 1st time at pro Deo and certainly won't be our last. Nathalie was fantastic, she makes sure she finds time to chat with each table and makes everyone feel at home. The food was fantastic and very large portions so the short walk back to the town centre was welcoming. Reservations are a must as a good half a dozen people were turned away. One of the best restaurant's in Bruges.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M_L_McEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get a reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Nice comfortable place, with only 7 tables. (5 more outside if not raining). Saw 10 couples turned away during our Thursday night meal. We just emailed two weeks early and just were able to get out reservation with no problem. Great food. Had Flemish stew (it was raining and cold). It was wonderful. Lovely place and wait staff. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank forfun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere with good home-cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had two very enjoyable evenings here during our stay in Bruges end of April and agree with all the previous positive comments. The restaurant is small and booking is essential. The food is well cooked, nicely presented and charmingly served by Nathalie who, although busy, always found time to chat and joke with us. Prices are reasonable. Wine list is small but well chosen. Portions are big so the approx 20 minutes walk back to our centrally located hotel was welcome as well as a good opportunity to see some of Bruges by night, very beautiful. We intend to return to try some more of Kristof's cooking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamboleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A relaxed, friendly evening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just finished a delightful evening at pro Deo. I booked weeks ahead based on positive reviews from Trip Advisor. The young lady who greeted us and waited on us all night was delighted to see us, remembered the email booking and did a marvellous job of managing her restaurant all night. It is a small cozy place with nicely presented meals at a reasonable price. Only a few tables so you do need to book. We had the Flemish Stew which was very tasty and came with an extra serve in case we wanted more.
All in all, a lovely relaxed night. Every person who left was taken to the door and farewelled. I was called by my first name all night which was the name I used in my email booking. Excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pro Deo also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to pro Deo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing