We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another 50th Birthday Treat”
Review of pro Deo

pro Deo
Ranked #5 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another 50th Birthday Treat”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A wonderful birthday trip to Bruges enhanced by fantastic supper here. We didnt book but were able to get a table thanks to a "no show". Started with locally produced pate from Flanders followed by fantastic steaks. Coffee and liquers rounded off a perfect evening. First class and very friendly hospitality and would highly recommend. Will certainly be returning and look forward to coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janerichard1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    189
    37
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming, Great Food”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant whilst on a weekend trip to Bruges, we booked it before we left based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere was lovely, the restaurant is cosy and the service very personable. The food was delicious, the portions were large, overall very good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Flemish stew”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a fantastic Flemish stew here. The meal was huge and very tasty. The waitress was very friendly. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Awlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very jolly!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Thanks to booking, we got a table. The restaurant is tiny but the reception is genuinely warm. Food is simple, hearty and plentiful, so much so that after sharing the starter of shrimp and cheese croquettes neither of us could finish our main course. The eel in green sauce: the flesh was dense but the sauce needed something sharper and fresher to cut through the inherent richness. The three Dover soles: a generous portion. Brilliant chips! Salads might be improved by a dressing other than regulation mayonnaise. Ice cream portion would have fed a family.

Jazz and blues soundtrack added to general ambiance. Fellow diners seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as we were.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanleamington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful evening at this restaurant to celebrate her 60th birthday. As recommended on here we booked weeks in advance - just as well.
On a rainy Tuesday evening in Bruges, the Pro Deo was still full. In fact, would be diners were turned away. That is the measure of the popularity of the establishment.
We started with a first-- Belgian gin and tonics which boasted a hint of aniseed and certainly hit the spot.
For starters we had the cheese croquettes, followed by the Flemish stew (the boss) and a steak tartar. Both were, as often-warned ,of substantial proportions. Neither of use are huge eaters and we met our match in the portion size. The food was delicious, helped on its way with a couple of glasses good house red.
We still found room to share a sweet of an ice-cream concoction which came with a jug of delightful chocolate sauce.
All in all a lovely evening hosted by the charming Nathalie. We would love to return one day..I'll just have to remember to book!
Paul T.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulLynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pro Deo also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to pro Deo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing