We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and wonderful welcome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of pro Deo

pro Deo
Ranked #4 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
“Wonderful food and wonderful welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the hotel we were staying in - and we are so glad we followed their advice. We felt welcome the minute we arrived. We had starters and mains. All were lovely but the star was definitely the Flemish Stew! The portions were more than generous and we couldn't manage dessert. A real gem, a little off the beaten track but worth looking for. Be sure to book in advance to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cap261963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    178
    35
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem in the Venice of the north”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Visited Pro Deo on the advice of several friends who've been before and I was not disappointed! Chef Kristof is at the stove, whilst his charming wife Nathalie takes care of front-of-house. A perfectly "saignant" steak with copious "frietjes" (Belgian chips), great wine and a thoroughly convivial atmosphere throughout. Because the dining room is quite small, it's worth calling ahead if going at a busy time - I saw several potential diners having to be turned away. The owners speak perfect English, so no communication problems. All in all, well worth the extra few yards walk from the tourist-trap restos of the city centre.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for quality food, and value for money , then take the time to visit this excellent restaurant. We opted for the €39 set menu of succulent asparagus,with rocket & Parmesan salad, followed by a substantial succulent filet steak, washed down by half a bottle of house red. There was just enough space for hot chocolate dessert. Our hostess could not have been more helpful. Thank you

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Could not have been better.. with a lovely extra at the end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having read the reviews Pro Deo sounded just right for my wife’s surprise birthday trip to Bruges….and it could not have been better. It is not pretentious & benefits from being out of the tourist main drag. The food was local and very good. The service was superb and very friendly.

I had booked on line, I mentioned it was my wife’s birthday in the hope we would get a window seat… which we did, but as a big surprise we also got the full ‘Happy Birthday’ treatment. Up to that point we had had a very enjoyable evening… after that it was very memorable as well… Thank you to everyone at Pro Deo!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy & traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here this evening. The host was very pleasant, the restaurant small, cosy and inviting. We were not particularly hungry, so shared some cheese croquettes and all had the Flemish stew. Wow! Very generous servings, which we could not finish. Lovely fresh salad to go with it & loads of chips. The beef stew was very tasty. Great place if you want some traditional food, good service and great value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcjojozep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pro Deo also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to pro Deo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing