We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cookie's

Cookie's
Ranked #237 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A late review! We ate here when we visted Bruges in January 2013. We had read reviews of this restaurant before travelling and decided we definitely wanted to try! It is easy to miss, tucked down a little cobbled alley. We didn't book but were very lucky to get a table downstairs by the bar. I assume it was a one off and we arrived at the perfect time as we saw lots of people being turned away during the evening. The atmosphere is cosy, warm and welcoming. Our waitress was lovely. Great beer and the food was divine and great value too. Can't remember everything we had but the calamari was amazing, and the iberico ham was to die for!
We sat next to a local who told us he eats at Cookies at least twice a week...always a good sign!
Would definitely reccommend. A great experience in a gorgeous city.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatalieBlackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    66
    19
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tremezzina, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely little restaurant tucked away in the streets of Brugge with excellent tapas style food and service. A little pricey but everywhere in the centre of Brugge is more expensive. Worth the effort to find this hidden eating place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiltin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great tapas and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

De Garre No 2 might be difficult to find for some, but for us it was just one step across the cobbles from No 3 where we were staying. We had 5 or 6 dishes between 4 of us and it was plenty. Everything was delicious, especially the meatballs. Good wine and beer selection and a glass of bubbles to start. The atmosphere and service is good and though it is not cheap we thoroughly enjoyed it and did not feel ripped off like we had the previous night eating rabbit stew in the square.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This fantastic restaurant is a hidden gem and one we suggest you try when in Bruges. It is located down a small alley close to the central market square. We didn't book and so nearly missed out, so if you want great tapas at the weekend then book a table to ensure you aren't disappointed. The restaurant is wonderful, ambiance fantastic, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was great. Will deffinitely go back when I am in Bruges next.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichtegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
400 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Excellent tapa restaurant in a charming scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent tapas! Charming and typical scenery of Bruges. Never been here before although we knew it's here for a few years now, but we didn't know they serve tapas... The best tapas we've eaten in Bruges for the moment. Specials also. Nice interior, friendly service, fresh delicious food, ... Will be coming back a lot now! We were lucky that they had a table for us because we didn't make a reservation. But it's better to make a reservation because this restaurant is well known and fully booked most of the time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Staessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookie's also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Cookie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing