We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Maison de la Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison de la Rose
Ranked #87 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We couldn't have felt more at home! Lovely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The grey room was large and well equipped. One morning we had breakfast in the house, which was delicious and plentiful! We certainly didn't need any lunch afterwards! Excellent, convenient location. It gave us a taste of living in a 'real' grand Bruges house, rather than a typical, modern hotel. We hope we get the chance to return to Maison de la Rose!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gthirkleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Blue Room over the Easter weekend. It's a great location - we walked from the train station on arrival (about 15-20mins) and it's a few minutes walk into the main town. We were greeted by Hans the owner who was incredibly friendly and welcoming and immediately gave us a city guide, a map and list of recommendations on where to go and where to avoid. He also gives you his mobile number in case you need anything else.

The room itself is a great size with a very large and comfortable bed and a fridge (useful for keeping all the beer and chocolate in!). There is an ensuite bathroom with a large sink and a roomy shower. My only criticism is that I was a bit scared of the very noisy hairdrier!

We didn't book breakfast but Hans recommended several places nearby. This B&B has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the hallway is full of books making it feel really homely. It's almost like staying at a friend's house. We were even given a note reminding us that the clocks went forward while we were there!

Hans is happy for you to keep hold of your keys and leave luggage in the hallway on the day of departure so you don't have to lug bags around with you all day. You are also trusted to leave payment in the kitchen when you leave.

I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naughtyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Finding the building was straightforward - there's a red rose motif at the top if you are in any doubt - and we were able to park out the front for a little while to unpack. There are several car parks nearby which operate 24 hours which suited us fine.

Described as a 'hotel', I would say ‘guest-house’ is more accurate - you feel like you are walking through someone's house - personal belongings, books and photos decorate the entrance and hall ways; none of your 'identikit' hotel makeover here. We stayed in the 'yellow room’, which was plain but tastefully decorated, with a separate but private bathroom. Both rooms were pretty large, our bedroom easily fitted a travel cot and the bathroom featured a separate shower cubicle and bath. The bed was quite firm – not to everyone’s taste but we both had a great nights sleep on it. Breakfast was unavailable at the time we stayed but we were given lots of great suggestions for where to look for the best Bruges breakfasts – all a stones throw.

Tips: Avoid dining on the market square - ask for better value suggestions. If you want to climb the tower - go early to avoid the long queues (even in March!). Try the Flemish stew with a local beer. If you have a little one, make sure your pushchair can cope with the miles of cobbled streets.

Although the hotel is not remarkable in itself, the friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietor and staff – Hans and Marianne – made us feel very welcome and safe, and the Maison De La Rose will certainly be on the top of the list next time we decide to visit Bruges.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We came to stay in Bruges in December 2012 for a christmas break for 2 days. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better, everything you could want to see in Bruges is a very short walk, the town centre is literally 2 minutes away! Hans and An were very accomodating and friendly, and gave us tips on the best sights to see whilst in Bruges as well as a very useful map and brochure. The room was comfortable and spacious, and the en-suite (which is no longer separated by the curtain as in some of the pictures, a door has been put in) was also roomy and had everything we needed. Overall, a lovely place to stay in the heart of Bruges and we would recommend Maison de la Rose to all our friends!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Second time staying at Maison de la Rose, and will be back for sure. The apartment is lovely, airy and spacious. Ideal for our group of friends spending a Christmassy weekend in Bruges. Good to be able to have the independence to come and go as we pleased and relax in a home-from-home environment rather than have the restrictions of a hotel room. Well equipped kitchen, lovely luxurious bathroom and beautiful clean comfortable beds! Location is just perfect as within a five minute walk you are in the central square. Hans the owner is extremely helpful and accommodating and is always on hand with advice about where to go and places to eat etc. . We cant wait to go back again. Bruges itself is beautiful, especially this time of year. Recommend Cafe Rose Red on Cordoeanierstraat if you want expert advice on Belgian beers! Also, try the Flemish Stew! It's a must! My favourite area to visit is the Beguinage and Minnewater. All in all a great place and its nice to know we can return to Maison de la Rose as our base for our future trips! Thank you Hans!

Room Tip: Loft apartment is ideal and private, self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here with my Mum and sister in November 2012 for two nights and loved the whole experience. Our room was large and cosy and had all necessities including a TV, fridge and more. The room was nice and toasty and warm which was ideal as it was so cold outside and the beds were more than big enough! The whole feel of the place was friendly and had a relaxed atmosphere - I loved the floor to ceiling bookshelf that ran alongside the staircase. The owner was very friendly too and offered us loads of great recommendations for places to visit - we particularly loved how he recommended local affordable places as opposed to typical tourist traps. We had breakfast on one morning too and had a lovely selection of croissants, cheese, ham, tea, coffee and orange juice and the owner also made us some boiled eggs - we were spoilt for choice! There was also free Wi-Fi too :)
The hotel/B&B was in a very central location too which was only a short five minute walk away to the centre, with lots of nice views on the walk too. A small supermarket was only a few doors down too which was great to buy some milk or snacks to bring back to the room.
Overall it was a very quiet, affordable and pleasant stay and I would without a doubt recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise-Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in the blue room for 3 nights. A big positive for us was the helpful and friendly nature of Hans, the owner, and Marianne, who checked us in. We also liked the decor of the room, the chocolates on our pillows and the central location.

A minor criticism is that there is no air con which means opening a window if it is hot and there is a bit of road noise.

Although it did not seem like the cleaner had been in for the duration of our stay, the room and en suite were very clean and we were supplied with plenty of clean towels.

We did not order breakfast during our stay and I think it says a lot that Hans recommended many cafes/patisseries as alternatives to his own breakfast. Hans also allowed us to keep our key so we could freely get our bags on the day we left and trusted us to leave him the correct cash. What a great guy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley-wayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Next Door Bed & Breakfast
Next Door Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 232 in Bruges
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B La Maison Bruges
B&B La Maison Bruges
#4 of 232 in Bruges
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
#35 of 232 in Bruges
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number 11 Exclusive Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de la Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la Rose

Address: Ezelstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $120 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de la Rose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse La Rose is an ideal location for uncovering all the romantic sites of Bruges and the surrounding area. We are located in the centre of town, next to the canals and less than 500 metres from the Market Square, right in the middle of the historical heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Maison de la Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison De La Rose Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing