We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - but no breakfast!”
Review of Maison de la Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison de la Rose
Ranked #72 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good location - but no breakfast!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The reception was warm but the accommodation was far from exceptional. No breakfast was served and there are no cafes open in the neighbourhood to provide any breakfast before 10 am, which was unfortunate as my conference started at 9! No discount was offered on the price of the room to account for the absence of the other "B", which I thought was a bit mean...

Room Tip: Avoid the Grey room if you want a good sleep - cars on cobblestones by day, drunken tourists shoutin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogadeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisondelarose, Owner at Maison de la Rose, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Yogadeva,


We are a guesthouse. We do serve breakfast but when you booked the room we send a confirmation mail asking if you wanted to have breakfast and you did not respond to this offer.
I can ensure you that there are quite a lot of places in Bruges that offer breakfast before 10am, and we would have been very happy to point them out to you. For our guests not taking breakfast we provide a couple of addresses. Maybe our explanation wasn't clear enough? I'm very sorry you weren't happier about your stay with us.

Kind regards, Hans & An
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Maison de La Rose is a wonderful base in Bruges. The location is perfect as it is very close to the main square (5 minute walk) but just slightly out of the tourist saturated areas. Also, it has great restaurants and bars beside it.

The (yellow) room was gorgeous, very tastefully decorated by the owner Hans, who has clearly lovingly restored this beautiful building. The bathroom was amazing with a bath and a shower.

Hans was there to welcome us and to give us great recommendations of restaurants, bars and chocolate shops. He is very warm and friendly and eager to give you as much help as you need.

Although this is a B&B, you have the freedom of a hotel with the feeling of being at home.

I would definitely stay in Maison de la Rose again and would recommend it to anybody going to Bruges.

Room Tip: The yellow room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyMcFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

A friendly service on email before arriving was followed up by a warm welcome from Hans upon our arrival. A helpful orientation to the apartment and city was made, along with how to contact Hans if we needed anything. A great apartment (steep steps being the only hazard), well equipped in a central location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjasonclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Blue Room and the accommodation was lovely. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great. Location is fantastic, within a few minutes walking distance to the market square. We appreciated all of the tips and recommendations that Hans provided (restaurants, pubs & especially where to buy good chocolate!). We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hans and An were most welcoming ! Lots of advice where to eat and visit was much appreciated. The room was lovely large and spacious with a fridge which was handy ! Secure car park at the end of the street 8.5 euros for 24hrs.As a travelling family of 2 adults three children i would highly recommend this place in lovely Bruges.A return visit definitely !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We used the loft, for 2 adults and 3 boys - it was spacious, clean, great location. Hans was very helpful, from emails to arrival and departure. A great base for a superb city.
Parking advice for the train station was a great and cheap option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jod98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

A great place to stay and so close to the central Brugge market square. We stayed in the loft on the top floor (the house has ground floor, first floor and second floor). You need to be physically able to climb stairs . There is a separate bedroom with a queen-size bed, a large, very clean bathroom then a large area which incorporates a kitchen, lounge area, a single bed and an area partitioned by a screen hiding another queen-size bed (more traffic noise from the cobble-stoned street below if you sleep in this bed).
We slept well in the quiet back bedroom. We wish we had booked our breakfast with Hans as he has great reviews. You need to book on arrival so he can source fresh produce. Instead we had our breakfast in the marketplace - a bit commercial but still okay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOROB354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#48 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B De Bornedrager
B&B De Bornedrager
#58 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Plat Pays
Le Plat Pays
#46 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The White Queen B&B
The White Queen B&B
#70 of 231 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
AM/PM
AM/PM
#50 of 231 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Blomdaele
B&B Blomdaele
#91 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de la Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la Rose

Property: Maison de la Rose
Address: Ezelstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de la Rose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse La Rose is an ideal location for uncovering all the romantic sites of Bruges and the surrounding area. We are located in the centre of town, next to the canals and less than 500 metres from the Market Square, right in the middle of the historical heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison de la Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison De La Rose Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing