We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of In Den Wittenkop

In Den Wittenkop
Ranked #42 of 799 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Traditional regional kitchen - Comfort gourmet food. Everything home made with best ingredients and love.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

My friend and I had a delicious dinner here last Friday on a girls trip to Bruges. The staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. The food was absolutely delicious - we shared croquettes (shrimp and cheese) to start, then the chicken and lemon sole for mains and the "dame blanche" for pudding. All was beautifully cooked and prepared and really super tasty. This is a lovely, warm restaurant and an absolute gem in Bruges.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 677 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2018

My husband and I had a wonderful meal in this charming restaurant last Saturday. I had the best moules frites ever. The restaurant is cosy and friendly with very good service. We were only in Bruges for the weekend but if ever we go back will certainly visit In Den Wittenkop again. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annarussell927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Looking for a lunch place at 2 pm in Bruges leaves you with limited choice but trusted TripAdvisor recommended this restaurant, and we weren't disappointed.

Between four of us, we all ordered off the lunch menu (Entrecote, Fish & Chips and Moules & Frites), and all of us left satisfied. These are all meals we've had plenty of times before, and definitely had better versions of, but it was very good, with friendly service, a nice view down to the street (we were in the upstairs dining room), and quick.

Definitely more on the pricey side, with close to €100 between for of us but only three beers drunk, no starters, no desserts, but hey ho - it was central Bruges.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SwissMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Stopped for late lunch. Quaint space with tone, very friendly, very efficient hostess/server. This is our big meal of the day. While in Bruges order mussels, right? Did that yesterday. Not do good. Today had a Duck on fresh greens salad and a goat cheese salad.Decided to split a large mussel pot in garlic sauce. The salad was fresh with mixed greens and a balsamic fig vinigorette dressing. The mussels arrived and when the lid came off the steamy aroma was divine. Garlic, onion, celery, butter. The best, complemented nicely by the salads and glasses of red wine. A delightful experience with food, service and ambiance. Don’t miss this place when in Bruges. Right off of Market SquRe.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank davidrb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We pre booked this restaurant following reading good reviews here on tripadvisor.

The restaurant was relatively full on our arrival which we took as a good sign. The layout is very compact and the wooden seats had no padding.

The food included shrimp croquettes, sole and mussels the latter of which I had been particularly looking forward to. Unfortunately my expectations were not met. The mussels had little in the way of broth which could only be reached after eating 75% of the mussels. Even then the broth was not particularly flavoursome. In addition, the fries were overcooked. The sole was fine as were the shrimp croquettes.

We were given a small bowl of a creamy cauliflower soup. I would strongly recommend that this is added to the menu. It was delicious.

Standard prices for Bruges. Service was good. We just expected a little bit more.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Hertsglobetrotter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Den Wittenkop also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to In Den Wittenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing