We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb cuisine, friendly faces, excellent value- best meal yet!”
Review of In Den Wittenkop

In Den Wittenkop
Ranked #39 of 800 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Traditional regional kitchen - Comfort gourmet food. Everything home made with best ingredients and love.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

This little gem of a restaurant had all the qualities that I look for in a five-star experience. I must recommend the smoked duck salad to start your meal. It was truly a special delight. We both had mussels-mine with curry and hers were natural. They were fresh and perfectly prepared. A side of friets completed the meal. We were both too satisfied to order desert but from what our neighbors on the table enjoyed next to us it looked delicious. The owner of eight years was lovely and charming as her well as her assistant. Five stars and three cheers!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mainstreetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 669 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2018

Stumbled upon this little gem after walking around the main plaza and refusing to pay 18 euros for a pizza. Service was quick and friendly, but the stand-out was really the food. I had a duck breast salad with figs as an appetizer and mussels + fries as my entree. My boyfriend had the fish and chips. Everything was delicious. I still have dreams about that salad!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carmen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

We had mussels and Flemish stew - both were outstanding. Goat cheese and bacon salad starter was also great. And don’t skip dessert. Convenient location, but not in crowded center.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mfitz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Food was very good. Nice atmosphere. Excellent service and nice cosy little terras as the back. Away from all tourists.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Laurent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Small restaurant slightly away from the main tourist areas in Bruges but clearly very popular. We were lucky enough to secure a table without a reservation and thoroughly enjoyed our mussels and frites, followed by seriously tasty desserts. Service was friendly and first-class. Not cheap by any means, but very good value for money.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank RidgebackHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Den Wittenkop also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to In Den Wittenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing