We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of In Den Wittenkop

In Den Wittenkop
Ranked #38 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional regional kitchen - Comfort gourmet food. Everything home made with best ingredients and love.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great date destination, friendly wait staff, and delicious food. The rabbit stew was especially outstanding. Dessert was also really tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    171
    34
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food but not much atmosphere”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Lovely home cooked food- rabbit stew and pork cheek followed by delicious apple pie. The food was all super but the restaurant itself was quite cold and there were only a few other diners who left early. We were the last ones there at just gone 9.30pm. That said we had a really nice meal and the waiter was friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Stringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We are at this restaurant last night, on our second night in Bruges. It had been recommended to us. The service was very very slow, and when we asked when our food might appear the young girl in charge had no idea. The starter was very ordinary- shrimp croquette- which had minimal garnish and presentation - had a slightly nasty aftertaste. But worse was to come. My main course - rabbit stew- had certainly not been stewed in the dark brown, tarry, Bisto tasting gravy that was smothered all over it. Incinerated, tough, bony, , absolutely foul, this was the worst meal I have been served in a restaurant or a very long time. It came with a small heap of not very good mash, and a peculiar sprinkle of raw chopped tomato and a few shreds of rocket. Nothing else. My husbands seafood linguine was little better. The pasta was actually t ough ( I suspect reheated in a microwave) with a harsh pepper and raw tomato sauce and a few rubbery prawns and tiny cubes of indistinguishable fish. The whole meal was a disgrace. We complained of course - but beyond a "oh I am sorry you are disappointed" the poor young girl had no idea what to say to us. We paid and left hungry! The contrast to the superb Flemish food we had enjoyed at another restaurant nearby the previous evening was massive. We eat out and travel a lot and this was the worst in many years. Not at all acceptable. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 357SuzyQ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely food & service!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I had this restaurant in mind after reading good things on here and I was not disappointed.
The food was wonderful - simple homely dishes, but done so well. To begin with my partner and I were presented with a little entree of soup on the house, which was delicious and a very welcoming gesture. We went on to share a starter of cheese croquettes (these seemed so popular in Bruges, we had to try them!) and they were wonderful, though I would definitely recommend sharing, as one was the perfect amount, being quite rich and filling. For mains, I had the duck breast which was cooked to perfection, while my partner had the mixed grill.
Our waitress was a really lovely and gentle mannered lady - she was working alone (though it wasn't particularly busy) and did a wonderful job.
We had beers and post-dinner Amaretto and our bill totaled around 80 Euros, which was extremely reasonable for the food and service we received.
If you're in Bruges and want a lovely relaxed dinner - go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You must eat here!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Super little restaurant a short walk from the main square in the old town. Beautifully prepared food with all fresh ingredients. If they have mussels on the menu, make the most of the opportunity because they’re definitely the best around and they come with a heap of delicious frites. Equally good is the Stoovpotje (pork cheek casserole) and the lemon sole. Lovely service too and a good selection of local and regional beers to accompany your meal. We first ate here 3 years ago, returned twice on our recent weekend trip and can’t wait to go back again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahCC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Den Wittenkop also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to In Den Wittenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing