We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visited in mid December for four days and had a wonderful time.
The hotel is in a great location for exploring old Bruges and everything is very close.
We maybe didn't get the best of first impressions as when we arrived at the hotel we had to fight our way through approx 20 plus smokers who had congregated at the front entrance, we later found out there was some convention going on at the hotel and it was a break time! Even so I think the management should address this as it's not a very pleasant experience for non smokers? Apart from that one incident everything else with the stay and hotel was great .
Room was very spacious and well stocked , Tv could have been slightly bigger for size of room but hay? Who books into hotels for the tv's? All in all excellent, bathroom,bedding, cleanliness and breakfast was all very very good! My wife loved the elegant lounge and we ended up every night having a nightcap there on our return....very pleasant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westham64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,351
    777
    132
    40
    29
See reviews for
537
2,075
60
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about the Casselbergh! From initial email enquiries and follow up questions, nothing was too much trouble and always met with helpful responses. We were lucky enough to be visiting Bruges for the Christmas Markets.

Arriving by Eurostar, the hotel is a 10 minute taxi ride from the train station (about 10 euros by taxi). It is ideally situated for the Christmas Markets and for lots of restaurants. We did a fair bit of walking and there are lots of shops to spend lots of money in – luckily the hotel is so well located that we could drop off our bags on a regular basis to save dragging them around.

The hotel had fully entered into the Christmas spirit and was beautifully decorated! We fell in love with its charm and elegant decadence at immediately. We had a lovely welcome from Bo on reception and were quickly checked into our enormous rooms. As a party of three, we had two double rooms between us which felt incredibly grand and special. Lots of wardrobe space, two big armchairs and a TV with channels in lots of languages and enormous double beds. The bathroom was modern, with a large shower and separate bath – the shower in our room had a rain head and felt wonderful. Lovely big white, fluffy towels and dressing gowns and some lovely L’Occitane toiletries. Housekeeping did an excellent job keeping the room clean and tidy. Tea and coffee making facilities and a very reasonably priced mini bar!

However, the lounges and bar are such a special treat that you will definitely not be drinking in your room. Roaring fires and comfy arm chairs to relax – Christmas carols were being played whilst we were there which really got us in the festive spirit. The Casselbergh hot chocolate is delicious and served in a silver pot with a little chocolate on the side – heaven.
Breakfast was served in a lovely room which always had plenty of spare seats. A buffet breakfast is available serving bacon, eggs, sausages, pastries, cold meats, cheese, yoghurts, fruit and cereal – basically everything you could possibly want. It was always fresh and replenished constantly by the hard working and friendly staff. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate is brought to the table. There is no restaurant on site but there are so many within a minute’s walking distance that it is little wonder the hotel does not have a restaurant.

If you want a touch of luxury and to feel like a VIP, this is the hotel to pick. Out of interest, during our stay, there seemed to be a major conference being hosted at the hotel and staff went out of their way to minimise any impact on tourists. The hotel was clearly busy with delegates but this did not impact on check in/out, breakfast or using the bar areas. The hotel staff were extremely helpful in advising where to eat (including making reservations), suggesting where to visit and which shops to go to and bus stops etc. We are already planning a visit next year to this stunning hotel and beautiful Bruges!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room in the old building and it was truly decadent (1108 and 1109)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurathegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We come here with friend to do some shopping and to take in the sights of Bruges . The first and best sight was the wonderful Grand Hotel from the moment you walk into the hotel you are transported into a by-gone age . The hotel is very stylish and has a classic feel about it The staff are all very very helpful , they look after you every need The room was out of this world even the view of the roof tops was magical the room was spotlessly clean with a amazing chandler huge windows the room was very grand
Breakfast was excellent
If you visit Bruges for a holiday or long weekend you must stay at The Grand Hotel Casselburgh .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cj1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

After an enjoyable stay last year we returned once more to this great hotel. Not such a good deal as before but happy to pay a bit more. This time we stayed in the old part of the hotel. The room was a little smaller than the one in the new part but as plush and as spotless as before. One again never got to experience the wellness center so can't comment on that.

The bar is really comfortable and prices similar to the nearby pubs. Could have stayed there all evening but could only take so much of the Cliff Richard Christmas CD on a seemingly permanent loop - got to feel for the staff.

The breakfast is like an early morning banquet. Worth adding and sets you up for the day.

The WiFi only seems to work well in the bar area.

Our only gripe was again have two beds pushed together to make a double. Do wonder if they have any true double beds at all.

All in all a great hotel. Will return maybe in the summer for a change.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brundlefly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

my family and i came to this hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday, the hotel exceeded all our expectations, the rooms are large and the breakfast plentiful,
the lounge's and bar are welcoming and the fire lovely, the staff are very helpful and
recommend places to customers,
Thank for a great birthday, one i won't forget in a hurry.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old building, lovely rooms and chandeliers in the bedrooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandjan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 3 nights on a trip arranged by friends. The location is excellent, and we were able to enjoy this beautiful city with ease. We had driven over, and once the car was parked, it stayed in the garage for the whole trip. On leaving the hotel it was interesting to see how tight the car parking was. Had the garage been full at the time we left, it would have been quite difficult (although not impossible) to get out.
We had one main niggle with our room - when we went into the room, I thought I could detect a strange smell. However we must have grown immune to it - until the morning! When I opened the shower door the smell nearly knocked me out. Without going into many more details, this was reported to reception, and the maintenance team sorted it out very swiftly. It seems that it was something to do with the cleaning fluids that are used to clean the shower. Once rectified, the problem did not occur again, so our main issue was resolved very rapidly. Apart from that, the room was clean and comfortable, with a kettle and coffee provided. Single beds pushed together, and even worse - single duvets are always less than perfect, but we slept reasonably well. Breakfast was very pleasant, with a very good selection of food. We enjoyed the comfortable public rooms., and a few drinks in the bar together, before venturing out to eat ( the hotel recommended some very pleasant restaurants to dine in) The lounge areas were a delight for the men who were able to sit and read in comfort whilst we ladies went Christmas shopping. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We had a lovely break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Casselbergh at the beginning of December with a couple of girlfriends. It was our annual girlie getaway and we chose Bruges to coincide with the Xmas market. We chose this hotel due to its central location but the hotel surpassed all our expectations in every way. It was truly beautiful and a lovely warm, comfortable and luxury hotel. We had a triple room - not your normal 3rd bed as a sofa bed, but a proper bed on a separate mezzanine level! Bathroom was beautiful -double sinks so plenty of room for all 3 of us and our many toiletries! The public areas of the hotel were beautiful with wonderful Xmas decorations and the bar/lounge was a great place to relax in after a day's shopping. Would recommend this hotel 100% -oh and I forgot to mention the wonderful staff who were so helpful and friendly! Bruges itself is lovely -a great place to visit but the Xmas market probably wasn't the best - quite small and very busy!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RutlandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing