We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent trip to Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent trip to Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a three night stay at the Grand Hotel from Saturday 20/7. The hotel was lovely, clean and had the most comfortable beds. Staff were very friendly. Location was excellent for everything you would love to do in Bruges. Breakfast was much more than we expected - my husband was more than happy when he could have smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast.
I Highly Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueN0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,288
    759
    124
    40
    28
See reviews for
518
2,020
59
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ossett
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 night stay . Beautiful hotel, extremely clean. In a perfect location,near to the market square but in a very quiet street. The staff were very professional and friendly. The breakfast was fresh with plenty of choice of both hot and cold food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges. This is the first time we have visited the city and thoroughly enjoyed our break,it really is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dylanossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachussetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this lovely and beautiful hotel in Bruggee and had a wonderful experience. The Hotel is very nice and the location is ideal and the price is unbelievable. We had a gorgeous room and delicious buffet breakfast each morning . The price for a standard room was about $125 Euro and they messed up my reservation and gave me a larger room, but truly any room would have been a bargain for the ambiance and the breakfast.

Room Tip: We were not on the canal but had a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenbee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kindong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

An excellent three night stay in every way. The staff strike just the right balance of friendly yet professional. We had a beautiful room overlooking the canal; the room was very well appointed including the bathroom facilities too. The latter also had a lovely supply of L'Occitane products which I love. The fridge also had space to store your own small items which was welcome

Bar prices for soft drinks and hot drinks surprisingly reasonable, e.g. less that some of the surrounding restaurants, coffee shops

The hotel is perfectly located in terms of being in the centre of things and easily able to walk everywhere. I booked direct with the hotel as after much searching of the internet the cheapest price was available direct.

We arrived by train and then took a taxi which was 11 euros outward and 8 euros return. Having not been to Bruges before a taxi seemed the safest way on a hot day with luggage but having got to grips with the layout of the town I think it could be easily walked within 20 minutes

This hotel chain has also just taken over the Hotel Dukes Palace, I believe the only 5 star hotel in Bruges. We were recommended to visit it to take advantage of the beautiful garden/sitting area and we ended up visiting it every day for drinks in the garden!

So, all in all, I'd thoroughly recommend the Hotel Grand Casselburgh

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiggerwoosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family and I spent 3 nights at this hotel mid July 2013. The hotel is beautiful and is kept extremely clean. The breakfast is amazing and fresh. Plenty of choice for meat eaters/non-meat eaters alike. Lovely to be able to enjoy 'freshly squeezed orange juice'. The breakfast staff are 'always on the go' and are quick in replying to any requests guests may have. They do not provide evening meals though, which is a pity as if their breakfast is anything to go by, it would probably be delicious. The rooms are clean and of a good size. The bathroom is beautiful, with both a bath and shower. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom too.

The hotel is centrally located for the main attractions. We enjoyed a boat tour of Bruges which we would highly recommend as you are able to see and hear about parts of Bruges you may not see on foot. Talking of on foot, make sure you wear comfortable shoes as the streets are cobbled. Look out for the cyclists, always be careful when crossing roads/streets etc. Not as bad as Amsterdam though, at least you can get about safely enough if you are careful. Eating out can be a little expensive, and it does seem as if all you are offered is Pasta. There are Subways and the equivalent of Burger King if that suits you better. Carrefour Express is the main supermarket if you want to buy your own goods, check the use by dates though, as we went to a little shop on Hoogstraat (not Carrefour Express) and the cheese was well out of date! Very disturbing. This wouldn't put us off Bruges though, it is a beautiful place. Like everywhere, there are positives and negatives. It was extremely hot when we went, so make sure you have your sun hat, sun screen and sunglasses. Don't go to a pub called 'Plantenmarkt' if you are looking for a friendly local, shop around. Thankfully, there are some very friendly locals which you can enjoy during your stay. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Bruges, it's a beautiful place with plenty to see and do. If we are to return at some point in the future, we would definitely book at the Grand Hotel Casselburgh. :)

Room Tip: The hotel is on quite a quiet street but close to all amenities, so you really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Me, my wife, our son and his partner spent 3 nights in executive rooms at this hotel between 16th & 19th July 2013. I have to credit the hotel with being probably the best 4 star accommodation we have stayed in anywhere in the world. The furnishings, finishes and general ambience were all very good, our rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. The only down side, which applied to everywhere we went in Brugge, other than 1 restaurant which was run by a Dutch chef/owner, was the forthright approach of some of the staff we encountered, we had not remembered this from our previous visits to Brugge. Well done to the hotel Management for providing such good facilities, keep it up and ensure that any approach to customers is made in an appropriately friendly and professional manner.

Room Tip: I would suggest choosing a room in the original building in order to benefit from the full ambience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QualitySeekers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. We stayed for 2 wonderful nights in Bruges. We stayed in the "old" renovated part of the hotel on the 2nd floor. Our room had a huge wonderful chandelier and a mini bar. The size of the bed was huge for Europe and so was the bathroom. When we go back to Bruges we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klhellenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing