We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Casselbergh and thought that it really added to the enjoyment of our mini break as the hotel itself was very nice and the location perfect for exploring the town. Travelling from London by Eurostar, it was 5 mins by taxi from the station and we had checked in to our room and were out in the town by lunch time. We had an executive suite in the old part of the hotel, which was spacious, well decorated and with the most wonderful bathroom - an exceptionally long, deep bath and a very good shower. We were at the front of the hotel which was a bit noisy on a couple of nights with very happy people returning home at closing time! You can go to the back of the hotel but that is the modern part of the building and only has standard rooms. The only real problem was the fact that we had two twin beds pushed together and when we asked for a proper double bed they pointed out that there was little demand and so they only had 3 or 4 in the whole hotel. If you do want one, make sure that you specify and they will do their best to accomodate you. The breakfasts were very good with a lot of choice and plenty of coffee or tea. The general ambience of the hotel was very nice and it looked as if it had been recently refurbished. Shame that the beautiful public rooms were decorated with were such obvious reproductions of historic portraits as they had gone to so much trouble to make the place feel authentic with lovely chandeliers and furniture. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for double bed if you don't want 2 singles pushed together. Rooms on front are in historic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,196 - 2,202 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

On our very special anniversary we stayed in this wonderful hotel! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! The staff were extremley helpful and personable. The room was lovely with a great sized bathroom with seperate shower and bath with L'occitane products. Very comfortable bed. So close to the main square and all of Bruges historic sites. The bar and guest public tooms were stunning! Chandliers, lovely artwork and comfortable chairs. Excellent bar service with individual coffee pots, milk and a belgium chocolate all served on a tray. For where you are the bar prices are very unexpensive and coffees,teas and hit chocolates less expensive than some if the over inflated restaurant prices! Breakfast was really good too in a very pleasant room. High praise for such a wonderful hotel which made our very special weekend very memorable! Next time in Bruges we will be back! Thanks to all the staff at the grand!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older parts of the hotel, much more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRLS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Four "golden girls" on a weekend in Bruges ... . Okay, so we're not that old, but we'd left the men and the children at home, so expectations were high and they were met with room to spare. Great, central location, spacious rooms, powerful shower and L'Occitane toiletries. Breakfast was leisurely and no end of choice - really set us up for a day of sightseeing. Although right at the end of September, mosquitoes were a problem, which perhaps I should have anticipated, but the hotel had this covered too. The staff were very helpful and I would certainly recommend and, indeed, return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catamarinbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh for 3 nights at the beginning of October. What a fantastic hotel! The hotel and our room was spotless, and the staff were very friendly and helpful! Drinks in the hotel bar were very reasonable as were the drinks in our mini bar in our room. We stayed in the older part of the hotel (would definately recommend).The hotel itself was very central yet situated in a quiet area! My husband loved the breakfasts, so much to choice from!
We are already dicussing our return trip to Bruges and will be returning to the Casselbergh!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraM321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is an exceptional hotel, spotless, staff are excellent. We didnt eat there, only breakfast.
Special thanks to Baptiste (sorry is spelling is wrong), who was as good as any guide.
gave us great advice on everything. My only fault is that i think on the breakfast buffet, there should be fried or poached eggs. If you dont like scrambled eggs?. and that is not even a fault.
it is in a fantastic location, minutes from the squares, but still very very quiet.

Room Tip: If you are staying longer than a night or two, do request a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufusbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just stayed at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh for the second time and, once again, had a lovely stay. The rooms are clean and well kept, and the public spaces are wonderful. The bar is a fantastic place to spend an hour after dinner with lovely coffee and the drinks are no more expensive than the bars in town. We would recommend this hotel for the perfect place to stay in Bruges.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

lovely hotel in a great position. down side is the King size double bed!! the size is fine but the two
beds pushed together with two covers was not so good , although fine. if you not talking...... . this is the only moan it is a very nice clean hotel . The position is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guitar1red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $145 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing