We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the nice city...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Very nice and charming hotel. Interior design looks gorgeous! You never regret you choose this hotel! Breakfast is fantastic. Hotel staff is helpful and polite. The hotel has its own sauna and turkish bath for free. There is a tea pot in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy298507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,514 - 2,520 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our stay in the hotel was very pleasant overall. The positives include the location (its central location allowed us to drop by if we needed a coat or wanted to discard shopping bags), breakfast until 10:30, comfortable beds with air condition, windows that opened wide and a mini fridge to store our water/sodas. Most of the employees were friendly and the hotel was very clean. The only negative would be a sewer-water smell in our room when we would return after several hours with the windows all left closed. Perhaps also no real place for a female to get ready in front of a mirror with a plug-socket nearby- the mirror was in the hot/steamy bathroom, or in front of the minibar/coffee area. Other than this, our stay was very pleasant. One note would be that if you're looking to stay in a room that looks like the photo featured on the hotel's website with the old beams in the ceiling, I imagine you need to request a room in the old wing, as the new wing has normal, modern-looking rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pagansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

A good hotel, excellent breakfast, good rooms. Excellent lounge and "smoking area". However disappointed that we had to leave a passport or credit card with the front desk just to receive Bath Robes. I loathe pettiness. . Apart from that it was fine. However next time (and we're here 2-3 times a year for long weekends) we'll return to Die Schwaene.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in June 2011, and liked this hotel. The room was large enough, with a view of the canal and Our Lady's Church, a super bathroom with separate shower, comfortable beds and free wireless internet. We also used the 'Relaxation' area, (a nice place, good sauna and steam room, but very unconvincing cardio equipment), and a few nights had a drink in the beautiful bar and its luxurious surroundings. The location is perfect, but don't be lazy and go somewhere other than the main squares nearby to eat. It might not be cheaper, but it will be better than the overpriced moules, frites and beer you will find there.

My impression was generally very good, but there are also problems: the design of the bathrooms is not very functional (including a light switch on the wrong side, hooks in the wrong place and so on), and strangely organised: the Relaxation area requires a security code, you have to give up your passport for a bathrobe, and there are no changing facilities down there. The hallways have muzak playing so softly that you think it comes from other peoples' rooms. The breakfast room is very nice, but the food is disappointingly mass produced, and a separate trip is required to get some cream for coffee.

The staff are earnest, but they do seem overworked and a bit brusque as a consequence, especially in the eccentrically located reception that must make their job harder by not giving them decent command of the area. The lounge is a fabulous place to spend the late evening, with quite reasonable prices, but whilst the decoration is top quality in terms of chairs, walls, curtains, plasterwork and a lovely little fire going, the 'paintings' (ugly, flat prints of undistinguished originals, or repro photos of '50s Hollywood) reduce the impact significantly.

We wondered aloud to each other whether the hotel doesn't feel it has to try very hard to get a crowd. Probably not, but a bit more attention to a few things would send this place into the stratosphere, considering how much it has to begin with.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groggery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The hotel was really nice in a very central location, only a couple of minutes walk from the Burg. We had a family room which slept the children (aged 13 and 8) in the mezzanine level above the main room. They thought it was fantastic. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom great with L'Occitaine products. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we were really pleased to have it included in the room price, as Bruges is very expensive to eat out. The on-site parking is a plus in Bruges as it's difficult to park in the city centre. The staff were a bit brusque and unhelpful at times, but we came to realise that this is a normal part of customer service in Belgium!

To get the family room, we called the hotel directly (they all speak excellent English) as it was not showing any availability online.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to get the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkisibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This really is a good hotel. A great location! A wonderful building! The public areas, particularly in the older wing, are almost palatial! We stayed in the newer wing and had a fantastic canal view, well worth the extra payment. The room, 2404, was slightly smaller than expected but well furnished, had a good bathroom (shower cubical and bath) and beds that were so comfortable. There was however an obvious odour of standing water from the bathroom and, if the bathroom door was left open by room service, it could be a little off-putting. We put up with it because everything else – including a fantastic buffet breakfast – was so good.

The location was excellent with everything in walking distance. Bruges itself was pretty, friendly, fairly priced and well worth a two day visit. By the by, I would recommend the Half Moon Brewery tour well above the Choco-story museum.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireBells21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We changed a booking at the last minute to stay at the Casselbergh and I am so glad we did. Our room was modern and clean, great bathroom and there was tea and coffee making equipment in the room. The breakfasts were great and the hotel has lovely public rooms. Terrific central location, however our room was extremely quiet. I love this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdabca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $143 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing