We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smoking in a restaurant!! no way!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro Bon Vivant - CLOSED

Le Bistro Bon Vivant
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: Our specialty is the grill. We have a small menu but serve delicious, fresh food. Our prices are normal prices for the city of Bruges. Workman or banker, everyone is welcome here. Everything is cooked in the room by our chef cook Mike. His wife takes care of the fresh fries, appetizers, salads, etc. .. We are a family business and we are happy to receive our customers like family. Our slogan, keep it simple ... Do you like atmosphere, romance and good food, a joke from chef Mike, in short, a pleasant evening ... Here is the place where you should be. Please note we do not accept credit cards ... Just cash. Open every night except Tuesday. On Saturday we are also open in the afternoon.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“smoking in a restaurant!! no way!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Everything written in the reviews about the owner, who is rude, etc....BELIEVE it! We went here yesterday, first at all it's very expensive, they are serving tea for 3 euro, tea = only a cup of water! And the tea bag was from carrefour white product, (2 euro for a whole package). Nothing is homemade everything is bought in a shop....Ok and what's worse when you come inside there is a non smoke symbol at the door, but people were smoking, we told thee waiter that we smell sigarettes and he said he can't do anything because it was the owner who was smoking and that the grill behind us also was smelling to smoke....euuuu...there is a difference between food you smell and UNHEALTHY sigarettes!!!Never again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ssille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    5
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

A busy night in Bruges ended here for a nice dinner. Apparently staff nor kitchen are equipped for a full house. This lead to long waiting time and chaos at a number of tables. Starters were ok but main course was very disappointing. We had sand in the salad, and the medium baked meat we asked for was almost raw. I complained it was raw but was told this was how medium meat should be baked. Well if only the outside is baked a little and the inside is purple and bloody, in my cook book it's not medium. But the only option I got was she could cut it in half and bake it well done. My, but also common, advice: never argue with a customer, especially if you apparently don't know what you're talking about. Some more advice: the meat wasn't of bad quality. Find a cook who knows what to do with it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Expensive and refused to accept credit card”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beware this looks like a nice little local bistro however the very limited menu is really expensive for what you get. The service is unpredictable and some food is cooked in the entrance over lava rock. Strangely a medium rare steak was cooked for over 20 mins on this grill!
I have given such a low rating because when I came to pay they suddenly decided they wouldn't take a credit or debit card. They said to make friends in Bruges you should always pay cash!!! Beware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not a place to be, to expensive and the food was not good.
The owner was not friendly, dont go there.
.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank paspattub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“rude owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

i have a voucher for this restaurant, so i tried to book but the owner said that the date i want is fully booked.
the restaurant is next to my hotel, last saturday i went there to see if i can have a table wit my friend, the restaurant was empty, the owner look at me rude, didnt say hello or goodevening, just look at me and said " whats the problem "
i was surprise by his attitude, so my friend tel that is maybe racist with tourists
whetever really hate this experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank barnaoui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Bon Vivant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing