We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caroline & John Bayley - A wonderful B&B”
Review of B&B Con Ampere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Con Ampere
Ranked #17 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caroline & John Bayley - A wonderful B&B”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at Con Ampere and we were so happy with our visit. The hosts welcomed us with a map and tips of places to visit, those to avoid and tailored it to our tastes. The room was very good, as was the continental breakfast and coffee and teas were available when you fancied them. Meeting up with other guests was great fun and the terrace a pleasant place to sit. It was close to the Markt but in a quiet area. The Cambrinus is definitely a place to eat and drink! We would certainly recommend Con Ampere to anyone going to Bruges.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    33
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
144
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay at Con Ampere and it was exactly what I'd hoped it would be and more after reading all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.

Dick and Tineke were the perfect hosts, giving us some great tips and making sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. We had the red room which was beautiful and ideal for Valentines Day which was the reason of our stay.

They recommended some great restaurants nearby. Toms Diner is a MUST! Great local food, lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. The Atrium is also great for a quick cheap and cheerful traditional Italian.

Con Ampere is brilliantly located, near all the tourist attractions. I can imagine the place is great in Summer so we will hopefully return one day and I wont hesitate recommending to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nicole2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

For our 4 nights stay, we booked the red and bronze rooms. Rooms were beautifully decorated and inviting, each with its own unique style. Hosts were very helpful and accommodating and immediately made us feel right at home. Dick had very good recommendations on which sights and restaurants (try Cookies, a bit on the expensive side but excellent) to go to and which to avoid. Location is ideal, less than 10 minutes walking distance from the markt. Will be going back to Bruges and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the green suite for 4 days in December and it was fantastic - own cloakroom, kitchen, living room, one of the largest rooms we have stayed in and very nicely decorated. A pleasure to get back to after a long day in bruges. Free Coffee machine and breakfast brought to your room a nice touch. Appreciate the parking close by. 2 very friendly and personable hosts who also recommended an outstanding restaurant (Bonte B). Great location 5 mins walk from the Markt. Didn't see the other rooms but look no further than the Green Suite for your stay if its available.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farradam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

In a nutshell - fantastic location, beautiful rooms, the worlds most comfortable bed, and very friendly and insightful hosts.

A short 5 minute walk from the center of Bruge makes this the ideal base yourself to explore the city.

The owners are extremely welcoming, and are only too happy to offer advice on what to do, where to go and what/ where to avoid.

The rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated, providing a welcome retreat and the end of a days exploring.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for three nights. I booked through a booking website but recommend contacting them directly via email to book.

LOCATION:
The B&B is located in the historical part of town and within walking distance to just about anything you need - station, tourist sites, main square, etc.

ROOM:
We stayed in the Green Room which was comfortable, clean and spacious. The shower was a bit too high-tech for my liking but served its function well enough. The bed was really comfortable, especially after tasting too many beers.

SERVICE:
We arrived at night and interrupted their dinner, but Dick was still very welcoming and friendly. Upon checking in, Dick/Tineke will go through the highlights of Bruges and show you some of the good and interesting places to see that you might not otherwise and recommend good places to eat and drink. We followed their recommendations, which are a balance between value and cost and had a great time.

We had a lazy breakfast one morning after sleeping in and Dick sat with us to share some really interesting and funny stories. We also had to check out at about 8AM in the morning and Dick was kind enough to organise a takeaway breakfast for us.
OVERALL:
Con Ampere has lots of character and great service. You really get a good homely feeling of a family run B&B. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TYL_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this B&B for 3 nights. We had the Green Suite. We booked via email, and Tineke was very prompt in replying. The location of the B&B is about 10 mins from the main square (slow walking). The area is very quite and we had a peaceful sleep.

The green suite was amazing - so spacious, we had our own front door, lobby, kitchenette, bedroom, sitting area, bathroom & toilet. The shower is amazing, including a temperature gauge, radio, and jets of water coming in all directions plus 2 sinks in the bathroom!. The toilet was separate. Bath towels and robes were provided - all in matching green!

The lounge area was also spacious with a comfy huge sofa and lots of cushions. The kitchenette had everything you needed.

The room itself is downstairs, and is quite shady, so remains cool in hot weather - I suppose some people may call it a little dark, but we didnt have any problems.

Dick & Tineke welcomed us to the B&B, showed us the suite and then took us upstairs to the patio for a beer and a chat about all the local amenities. They are both very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

We didnt have breakfast, but if you choose to have it it is served on the terrace in good weather and in your room on colder days.

They layout of the building is unusual, and I am glad we booked the green suite, as both this and the green room are on the lower floors, which means (unless you go for breakfast upstairs) that you avoid the very steep ladder type stairs up to the terrace, which could cause some immobile people problems.

Nearby the B&B are some good local bars, restaurants and an excellent egyptian restaurant/takeaway called Tutenkamen if you want a late snack, as its open till 1. Also nearby is Vino Vino, a quirky tapas bar that is worth a visit and serves food until fairly late.

I do visit Bruges fairly regularly, and will certainly book this suite on my return visit.

Room Tip: Choose either Green Room or Green Suite if you want to avoid very steep ladder type stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiraz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 231 in Bruges
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Con Ampere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Con Ampere

Property: B&B Con Ampere
Address: Genthof 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Con Ampere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 double rooms and a suite, in the centre of Bruges. After a long day in beautiful Bruges, it feels very nice to relax in our B&B - you will feel at home immediately! See you soon, xx Tineke en Dick Stupers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Con Ampere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing