We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, for a basic meal”
Review of Matinee Restaurant

Matinee Restaurant
Ranked #583 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Expensive, for a basic meal”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

For 2 people, 2 simple courses, plus wine, coffee & brandy came to 100 euros. Food was okay, but not that good. Service was okay.

I'd like to know what a previous reviewer had for 40 euros for 2 people !!!

There are many better options.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindarann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    79
    74
    51
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Barn, Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value meal”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I had an excellent meal at the Matinee recently, the service was good, the food was good and plentiful and excellent value for money, with three courses each plus drinks costing just over 40 euros.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, good value for money, service could be better”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stopped for lunch here and after a long wait to be given our menus and have our drinks order taken placed our food order which arrived very quickly. I had the Flemish beef stew which come with frites and salad and my wife had the Croque Monsieur and frites. Food was nice and reasonably priced but I felt the service could've been better and the restaurant lacked abit of ambience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rather give this one a definite miss!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were in Bruges during June 2014 and revisited restaurants my wife and daughter also visited during their previous 2006 vacation. What a disappointment as this was our first restaurant experience during our visit! The service was prompt but without any warmth and friendliness. The food was bland and below average and definitely not a good advertisement to local cuisine. We also had to witness an incident with 2 Japanese guests who unknowingly took pictures of their food in the restaurant. They were told in no uncertain terms that this is not allowed at all! I believe any business can have a policy/opinion on taking photographs inside their shop or premises - but the way in which this specific incident was handled left a very unpleasant taste in my mouth as a guest who overheard the incident. Not a place I will visit again and will not recommend the restaurant to any other guest.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average fair.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Situated a few streets from the main square means that this restaurant is a little cheaper than some of the other restaurants in town. Service was OK (as I was the only customer). Food was perfectly acceptable and served quite quickly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matinee Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Matinee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing