We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Huis Koning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huis Koning
Ranked #1 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a beautifully furnished B&B, and we were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was just about perfect.

Nothing seemed to much trouble for our hosts, from the freshly cooked omelettes at breakfast, to finding and booking us a table at their own favourite restaurants. We even found little surprises in our room when we returned in the evening, perhaps some home baked cake!

I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. Two of the rooms look over the canal which is obviously pretty, however...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Huis Koning
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 697 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the minute we arrived until the morning of our departure our stay in Brugges was made unforgettable by the hospitality of Lyn and Peter. Every review has covered all areas of this b&b. Lyn gave us excellent restaurant recommends, city sights to see and the best breakfasts each morning. This could only be surpased by the afternoon teas provided each day in our room. Freshly made muffins, biscuits, chocolate mouse and belgium chocolate were our treats. The rooms were clean and stylish, nothing spared when renovating for the b&b. We can't wait to return to this b&b and meet our hosts again. Thank you Lyn and Peter for a marvellous stay. It seems the word is out that this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were so very happy to return to Huis Koning, and to receive such a warm, friendly greeting from Lynn and Peter and their daughters Sam and Axelle. They spent three years restoring their 17th century home, bringing it to this beautiful, comfortable, and tastefully-appointed state. It is so truly welcoming, it makes us feel as though it were ours. They have thought of everything you could possibly want or need. Believe us when we say that all the glowing reviews you have read about this best-of-the-best B & B are true--they do it perfectly!

There are three beautiful rooms available; we love the room we have stayed in on our visits, Augustijn, for its comfort and well-appointed decor. The spa-like bathroom is pure perfection, with L'Occitane toiletries, sumptuous towels and face cloths, rainwater shower head and full tub, to gorgeous earth-colored marble and rainforest tiles. There is the feeling of being totally pampered by your hosts, Lynn and Peter. Luscious treats await you at Lynn's homemade breakfast every morning, even more choices than we remember from our last visit; fresh coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, cooked to order eggs, specially hand-written labels on each of the breads, waffles, pastries, local meats and cheeses, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, and jams, made by Lynn's mother, to top things off. When you return to your room after a day touring Bruges specially labeled home-baked treats await you under the tented tray near fresh flowers on your table. A well-stocked mini-fridge is in your room for your indulgence. Lynn and Peter are very kind, thoughtful, and helpful, letting you know what is happening in the town, and extend themselves by making dinner reservations, scheduling taxi services, giving you recommendations for dining and touring activities, all without making you feel as though it is an imposition.

They have created a magical home, lighted with candles at all times of day, with heavenly scents drifting up winding staircase from the kitchen, where coffee and tea facilities are at your fingertips whenever you would like. This is a wonderful place, a special family, and a B & B which is unparalleled. Thank you, Lynn and Peter; we will return.

Room Tip: Though all the rooms are lovely, we prefer Augustijn because that is where we have enjoyed our stays...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2vus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Amazing place to stay in. Stayed at the B & B after reading reviews in Tripadvisor. THe best B&B ever. The perfect location, the perfect room and more importantly the perfect host. The room was modern and faultless but what really stole the show was Lynn's hospitality. We have never come accross such hospitality with such personal touch ever. If you are in Bruges, you must stay at Huis Koning.

Thank you Lynn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubhes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed October 6-8th, Lynn and Peter were very welcoming and helpful, the rooms beautiful, the whole house so tastefully furnished and decorated, and the breakfasts and hospitality the very best. This is a wonderful place to stay.


Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DKNSt_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My fiancé & I have just returned from our second visit to Huis Koning and we had such a wonderful time that we have already booked again to visit next year.
The hosts (Lynn and Peter) are such lovely people who will do everything to ensure that you have the perfect stay. The B&B is top class, incredibly clean and beautifully decorated with delicious breakfast (Lynn does the best poached eggs!) and in the perfect location in the heart of the beautiful City of Bruges. I would definitely recommend that you stay at this B&B when you visit Bruges, it is out of this world and we absolutely love it (and I am certain that you will too).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Dear Lynn and Peter,
Thank you! When we left Huis Koning on Thursday morning we felt so sad, the kind of feeling that you get when you are leaving family or close friends. This is the impact your wonderful hospitality had on us. Lynn - we appreciated your genuine, friendly chats and advice, your wonderful breakfasts and your laughs and smiles. Peter - we appreciated how much you obviously do to keep the place running so well. We loved our room, the location and everything about this place. It ranks as one of our favourite places in the world. We hope to see you in Tasmania one day.
Warm regards,
David & Laura

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#4 of 232 in Bruges
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis Koning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis Koning

Address: Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $158 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis Koning 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B with a terrace directly on the water site, this all in a 17th-century old Bruges house, whichs we totally renovated into a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Huis Koning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis Koning Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing