We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B&B!”
Review of Huis Koning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huis Koning
Ranked #1 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 2 days in this B&B last week and loved everything about it. It is a gorgeous place with great location, within walking distance to everything. Lynn is the greatest host and a great chef. Loved coming back at night and grabbing a cup of coffee to enjoy with the delicious treats she leaves for you in the room. She also leaves treats in the kitchen all day long. We stayed in Augustijn for one night and Ter Reie the second night and loved both rooms. The bathrooms are gorgeous and the rooms are spotless clean with great bedding. I honestly can't say enough about this place. We stayed in a 5 star hotel in Brussels before going to Brugge and then went to Amsterdam and had a very nice 4 star hotel but at the end both my husband and I agreed that Huis Koning B&B was our favorite place. I will not hesitate to recommend this place and would absolutely go back. Thank you Lynn for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 711 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well, what can I add to all these glowing reviews. This probably goes town as my favorite B&B experience of all times. Gorgeous place, and the hosts were friendly, lovely. I could wax poetic about the gourmet breakfast (cheese, artisinal breads, cold cuts, eggs made to order, coffee) and special treats every morning. Especially loved the home made jams. Lynne used to be a professional chef, and it shows! The rooms are stylish, modern and the bathroom amenities are fantastic with L'Occitane products and heated towel rack! A short walk to the center of Bruge through pretty paths.
For the price we paid, I think this is an absolute steal and you get a lot more than expected. I can see why they are #1 here.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank brocade444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just spent three days at Huis Koning and had the most enjoyable part of our European stay there. The location is in a quiet area close to everything. Lynn is a fabulous hostess and thinks of every possible detail to make your stay perfect. We stayed in the largest room, Augustin, and no detail was overlooked for our comfort. She is a marvelous cook and the breakfast was beautifully displayed and everything delicious - especially the sugared waffles! If you are lucky enough to go to beautiful Brugges Huis Koning is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaufortSCBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Is the only way to describe the lovely B & B.
Lynne and Peter are the perfect host and hostess.
Upon arriving in Brugges we were unable to get a taxis from the train station and after an hour of waiting as the taxis's came and went, not picking up waiting passengers, as they explained they were already booked for prior jobs, I phoned Peter to ask him to please order us a taxis to pick us up, which he said he would do. 5 minutes later my phoned rang and it was Lynne informing me Peter would come and pick us up. This was most unexpected and very much appreciated. To me their care and attention went far and above the normal and I guess this is what makes them the
best.
I could only reiterate what has been said by others and confirm their options, Huis Koning is all that everyone says, perfect, beautiful, a touch of old and new in a magnificent setting with two wonderful, caring hosts. What more could anyone ask.
Brugges itself if truly beautiful and we will certainly be returning, and guess where we will be staying???????

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lyn and Peter have worked hard to create a welcoming, friendly, and calm boutique b&b. The decor is gorgeous - like an art gallery and the contemporary clean lines are beautifully balanced with the candlelight and lanterns in the evening. The terrace is a lovely quiet spot by the canal where you can appreciate Lyns homemade treats. The location is great - just a 5-10min walk to the main square. Breakfast was wonderful - I had scrummy fresh fruit salad,fresh orange juice, homemade breads,great muesli and delicious cheeses. Pastries and meat and cooked eggs were also on offer. Coffee and tea were available at all times. We came to Bruges for a relaxing and indulgent time and staying here was perfect.Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We had the front room which was larger (augustjin?) and loved having a large bathroom and bath and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaildevonshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a great B&B. Lynn is an impossibly dedicated, talented, and lovely hostess. She was helpful to a fault, a terrific and generous cook, and she cared a great deal about the quality of experience she was providing to her guests. Lynn and Peter's impressively situated home is also very physically appealing, and having breakfast on the outdoor deck was like being in a fairy tale world. Our room was not large but very pleasant, very clean, and with an excellent shower. I'm sorry but we really have nothing negative to say about Huis Koning, and I think it is a perfect getaway for a summer visit to Bruges. In fact, we will be sending them a small thank you gift from Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montonefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It is amazing. It looks beautiful. it smells beautiful. Everything about this B&B is great. The couple that runs it is amazing. All of their recommendations are amazing. When you check in they meet with you and discuss everything you want to do and mark it all on a very good map for you. You must stay here everything is perfect from the food to the L'occitane in the bathroom! enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faith0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis Koning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis Koning

Address: Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $158 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis Koning 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B with a terrace directly on the water site, this all in a 17th-century old Bruges house, whichs we totally renovated into a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Huis Koning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis Koning Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing