We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch bar”
Review of La Baguette - CLOSED

La Baguette
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Nerja, Espagne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch bar”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Perfect place to have a lunch. We were 3 days in Bruge looking everyday for a lunch ans finally de came back always in this place. Nearly everything home made with good privés ans smiling staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 852kenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service, wouldn't recommend at all”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We went here because it was advertised in the Bruges visitor guide and we fancied a simple sandwich one day. The food was perfectly ok but the customer service was shocking. I bought a cup of tea which came as a small glass of hot water with a teabag. I wanted more than just one small cup so requested another cup of hot water (no teabag, no milk) but was told I would have to pay for another cup of tea just to get some more hot water. When I said that wasn't what I'd expect from somewhere that cared about customer service the owner said 'well, this is Bruges, it's expensive. Next door it'd be $4'!!! Wouldn't go back, it was nothing special food-wise (went to a much better sandwich shop the next day), the customer service was just poor and the owner's attitude demonstrated why!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small prices Excellent service”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Down to earth pastry and rolls but very tasty and not expensive !
And most of all. If you feel a bit down, visit this place and you will leave there with a smile on your face! :-) Why ? Because of the honesty and friendlyness of the hard working staff there ! Thumbs up !

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wimpy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Decent, but better places in Bruges”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Its not a bad place, you can get lots of lunch options to go or sit in their cafe, and they do serve a range of deserts like waffles.

But we had a waffle and drink, and although it wasn't bad it wasn't the best either. A better bet would be the DePoverie tea room just next door, but that one is a bit more expensive.

Generally this could be a good choice if you're on a budget.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, GREAT price for breakfast”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Shocked by high bistro prices in Bruges -- we had two small waffles and coffee for breakfast at 23 euro total yesterday - and we were looking for someplace less expensive.
This morning we stumbled on "La Baguette" at 20, Katelijnestraat (across the street and down half a block from Our Lady church). Had a roll & ham & cheese, and a pastry (could have had two of either one), and coffee (could have had tea), and orange juice as their petit dejeuner for 5 euro each. Very good bread, pretty good pastry, good coffee. If you're looking for a good breakfast at a (for Bruges) GREAT price, this is worth a look.

Helpful?
2 Thank rgore328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baguette also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing