We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hosts, delicious food!”
Review of de Bocarme

de Bocarme
Ranked #72 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $67
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful hosts, delicious food!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

de Bocarme is not only a wonderful haven from the bustle of the streets of Bruges, but the food is both creative and delicious, and Patrick and Nadine are delightful hosts. In a city which thrives on tourism and, let’s face it, a wide variety of standards and service, it is refreshing to find a couple so focused on ensuring you enjoy the cuisine, the welcome and the whole dining experience at their restaurant – as though you were personal guests in their home. A great find.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Judy,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and nice review, we are pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, as we said before we try to give our customers the house feeling and a good value for money experience.
We both hope to see you again very soon.
Best wishes and kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    54
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Friendly, Cozy and Efficient”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Bocarme had been one of the best rated (non Michelin star) restaurants opened for lunch, therefore we booked it for a fast business lunch.
Once you find it (entrance from a small side street with the stairs going down), you can enjoy a friendly host and quite nice Belgian cuisine. Service was excellent, proactive and relatively fast ( for Belgium that is). Food was good, but not really the best we had in Belgium. Wine selection is nice, the host can recommend a few good choices for every budget.
Given the weather and Month of July, we were a bit disappointed that no outside seating is possible. Maybe thats why the place was deserted...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tikhon-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sir, you are right, outdoor seating would be a big advantage for us, but like you said we are situated in a site street and with stairs going down, we are a semi cellar, in the middle ages the house would have been ground level. We are pleased that you found our services do be according Belgium standarts as fast, we know that we do not serve the best food in Belgium but we serve good food for a reasonable price.
We hope to see you on your next visit and thank you for this nice and kind review
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka Beach, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice surprise for dinner in Bruges.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We dined here during our recent stay in Bruges, and were our experience was consistent with others who have given positive comments. We enjoyed the food and the conversation with the owner. The location is very convenient and dining in a cellar is an experience. We would return here the next time we visit the city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VRJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear VRLJ,
Thank you for your nice and kind review, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant and hope to see you back on your next visit to bruges.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food in central location”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

de Bocarme offered the best of Belgian cuisine at a reasonable price and in a very central location.

Although the restaurant wasn't that busy when we visited the food was excellent - we all chose the set menu priced at €42 for four courses and the food was brilliant.

Definitely a must for fine dining in Bruges!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Erf1984, Thank you for your very nice review, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our month menu, and we hope to have the pleasure to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This wasn't our first choice as we where trying to keep to a budget but we enjoy fine dining and we where close by, so we decided sod it let's just enjoy & we where not disappointed. Food drink & the staff all excellent and I would strongly recommend a visit, made us feel special. Great place for quality evening

Helpful?
1 Thank GBenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Gbenfield, Dear ladies, we are pleased that you both enjoyed the evening with us and thank you for this very nice review, like I said it is just common politeness to respond to a review good or bad. We hope you are experience good fortune on your travels through Europe.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Bocarme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Bocarme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing