We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant ”
Review of de Bocarme

de Bocarme
Ranked #74 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $67
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This wasn't our first choice as we where trying to keep to a budget but we enjoy fine dining and we where close by, so we decided sod it let's just enjoy & we where not disappointed. Food drink & the staff all excellent and I would strongly recommend a visit, made us feel special. Great place for quality evening

Helpful?
1 Thank GBenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Gbenfield, Dear ladies, we are pleased that you both enjoyed the evening with us and thank you for this very nice review, like I said it is just common politeness to respond to a review good or bad. We hope you are experience good fortune on your travels through Europe.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    54
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Absolutely Fantastic Dining Experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Patrick is the consummate host/waiter/sommelier. Trust his suggestions -- you will not be led astray. Nadine -- the co-owner/chef -- takes the freshest of seasonal ingredients and creatively adds herbs and spices in a manner that enhances rather than changed their natural flavours. Her sauces are delicious. The setting -- a warm basement with brick arches, white walls, indirect lighting, paintings by local artists on the walls and a very generous distance between tables -- adds to the evening's enjoyment. One very unusual aspect (something that captures the informal yet elegant standard if service): We ordered the set menu (as opposed to choosing from six appetizers and six mains off the menu that is changed seasonally) with accompanying wine. We were supposed to have ONE glass with each of the three courses. Patrick regularly refilled out glasses (at no extra charge)! Don't come here for "a quick meal"; do come for a memorable dining experience. When we return to Bruges, we will definitely return here.

Helpful?
1 Thank JasonfromHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Jason, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, the mrs. and myself are pleased that you had a wonderful time with us last Tuesday, and lucky for both of you the hotel was just around the corner. Like we told you our menu changes every 6 to 7 weeks according the season we are in, so we can serve fresh local products at a reasonable price. We where also pleased to hear that you booked with us on recommendations from your friends back home, that is still the best promotion you can get. We wish you all the best on your bike travels through Europe and a save return.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a lovely meal here with selected wines. All the courses were good - both meat and fish - but we particularly enjoyed the scallops. A very atmospheric place too. Friendly and pleasant service. Excellent value for such a lovely meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocAmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello DocAmeh,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are pleased that you enyojed our new month menu, we are proud with our queen scallops, they are dilivered to us on a daily basis and are top quality.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to spend New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic New Year's Eve here. Food was beautiful and the accompanying wine plentiful and very nice. Not cheap but absolutely worth every penny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear NeilH, Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased that you both spend a wonderfull New Year's Evening with us,quality food and wines cost a bit more and we try to serve it at a reasonable price and as you said that is was worth every penny, hope to see you both back in the near future.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve meal delicious”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Champagne with terrine of foire gras, Gerviche of Sea Bass with herb cream and veg salad, Norway Lobster cream soup with crayfish, blood orange sorbet, crusted fillet of Brill with Nantais butter sauce, cheese with nut bread, Sylvester dessert, midnight champagne, coffee or tea with chocolates and sweets; all served with copious amounts of complementing wines. Friendly staff, but NOT cheap. Excellent evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jacquie 728, Thank you for taking some time to write this nice and kind review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us on NYE, we are a small family run bussines and we are trying hard to deliver fresh quality food and wines for a good price.
We hope to see you back in our restaurant on your next visit to Bruges.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Bocarme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Bocarme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing