We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant!”
Review of de Bocarme

de Bocarme
Reserve with
de Bocarme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 741 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited with my wife last week to celebrate her birthday and can honestly say that the food, ambience and service we experienced was the best in Bruges! The Amuse Bouche was excellent as were our starters of Queen Scallops with langoustine sauce. Our main courses of Veal with a Port sauce and Charolais Beef with a pepper sauce were also excellent. The Cotes de Rhone wine we chose was good value for money and the evening was made by Patrick the owner who was very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Should we return to Bruges - we will definately be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Phil H, Thank you for writing this beatifull and kind review, we are pleased that you both had a nice time for the birthday with us and we hope to see you again in Bruges.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 288 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice location and ambiance. Underground cellar style location lends to a more private setting added by a rich romantic decor. Ideal for creating a romantic atmosphere. However the menu and service could be better.
I took my husband to De Bocarme to celebrate his birthday and was very impressed with the decor, however we found the menu choices a bit limiting. When it was mentioned to the waitor we were told that the restaurant changes it's menu every six months which is great if you are a regular diner but may not necessarily work for everyone. The food was decent but I wouldn't give it a five. I think the seafood options are tastier than the meats. The service was ok but I wouldn't give that a five either. The waitor was very polite and friendly (his wine recommendation was spot on) but the waiting time for starters and main course was to long. Nice place but not exceptional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Karen J,
This is the best review you could give us, you claim that our menu is limited, you can choose from 6 starters - 6 main and 6 desserts and a choise menu, all this with fresh local products.
Like you wrote we change our menu every 6 months and our choice menu every 6 weeks, this is to give our regular customers ( who don't critic on Tripadvisor ) a change to experience new dishes. If ever you want to visit Bruges again please let us know so we can send you a list with tourist traps and huge menus with lots of frozen products.
We only have another question, why didn't you mention your remarks on the night when we asked, or is it because we did not had moeullieu as dessert ( was on our menu last year ).
Regards
Van Moorter Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant has a great cellar style location just off the square. The menu is expensive but the food is very good (as is the wine choice). Our experience started off well but the service became very slow with a lot of attention being given to one table who seemed either related or well known to the owners. It detracted from what was a nice meal.

Thank andybevrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Andybevrose,
We are sorry for the inconveniance that you may have had, some people want more attention than others but we try to help everybody the same way.
Kind regards
Van Moorter Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Mrs Mole and I visited Bruges last September - I forgot to post a review at the time but wanted to say how much we enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. In fact we enjoyed the meal so much that I we are returning to the restaurant with four friends when we visit the Ice Sculpture "festival" at the end of November. It is not a lively nor noisey restaurant. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife - he really is a perfect host and his wife a fantastic chef. The menu caters for both meat and fish eaters. We thought the meal and drinks were reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank melvinthemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Mole, thank you for your beatifull and kind review, we are pleased that you both enjoyed your time in our restaurant and to hear that you are bringing a small group over to see the Ice Sculptures at the end of November. You are the best publicity that the City of Bruges and the restaurants can get, just by coming back.
See you back next November.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant last year when in Bruges and really looked forward to our return visit and were not disappointed. The quality of food, service and wine could not be faulted. We had the set menus and the prawns in coconut as a starter were out of this world. Our main courses of cod and steak were wonderful as was the dessert of almond ice cream. The whole atmosphere is calm and the husband and wife team work hard to achieve an exceptional dining experience. It is a definite must when visiting Bruges and we will most certainly eat here again on any return visits. Thank you Nadine and Patrick for making my husbands 60th birthday meal one to remember

Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Gill R.
Thank you very much for your kind review of our restaurant, needless to say it was a pleasure having you both again with us for your husbands 60th birthday.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to see you both back on your next trip to Bruges.
Lots of love from Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Bocarme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Bocarme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing