We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food spoilt by slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of de Bocarme

de Bocarme
Ranked #64 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $65
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food spoilt by slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a great cellar style location just off the square. The menu is expensive but the food is very good (as is the wine choice). Our experience started off well but the service became very slow with a lot of attention being given to one table who seemed either related or well known to the owners. It detracted from what was a nice meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank andybevrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Andybevrose,
We are sorry for the inconveniance that you may have had, some people want more attention than others but we try to help everybody the same way.
Kind regards
Van Moorter Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    54
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So enjoyable - taking a small group next time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Mrs Mole and I visited Bruges last September - I forgot to post a review at the time but wanted to say how much we enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. In fact we enjoyed the meal so much that I we are returning to the restaurant with four friends when we visit the Ice Sculpture "festival" at the end of November. It is not a lively nor noisey restaurant. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife - he really is a perfect host and his wife a fantastic chef. The menu caters for both meat and fish eaters. We thought the meal and drinks were reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melvinthemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Mole, thank you for your beatifull and kind review, we are pleased that you both enjoyed your time in our restaurant and to hear that you are bringing a small group over to see the Ice Sculptures at the end of November. You are the best publicity that the City of Bruges and the restaurants can get, just by coming back.
See you back next November.
Kind regards from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant last year when in Bruges and really looked forward to our return visit and were not disappointed. The quality of food, service and wine could not be faulted. We had the set menus and the prawns in coconut as a starter were out of this world. Our main courses of cod and steak were wonderful as was the dessert of almond ice cream. The whole atmosphere is calm and the husband and wife team work hard to achieve an exceptional dining experience. It is a definite must when visiting Bruges and we will most certainly eat here again on any return visits. Thank you Nadine and Patrick for making my husbands 60th birthday meal one to remember

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Gill R.
Thank you very much for your kind review of our restaurant, needless to say it was a pleasure having you both again with us for your husbands 60th birthday.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to see you both back on your next trip to Bruges.
Lots of love from Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The most amazing meal in an unexpected place. The smoked salmon amuse bouche with trout mousse was fantastic. The English lamb with green beans and roasted potatoes was first rate. The home made tiramisu was the perfect ending to a perfect meal. The wine (half bottle Bordeaux) was exceptional. While priced according to a great American meal, it is well worth the price. The ambiance is great, the owners are amiable and you won't go wrong eating here. Five stars all the way!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear JHGeller, Thank you for taking some time to give us such a nice review, we are pleased that you both had a wonderfull meal with us, and we hope to see you back on your next visit to Bruges.
Kind regards
Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great basement restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came here on a Monday night after booking online. It was very quiet and I'm at a lost as to why this might be. The food and wine was brilliant, the restaurant is in the basement of an historical building with vaulted ceilings, very much in keeping with Bruges main square.

Advice to anyone, don't be put off by the stairs, its a hidden gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ian, Thank you for your kind words, some days the restaurant can be quiet, on others it is so busy, but we are pleased that you both had a wonderfull time with us.
Kind regards
Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Bocarme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Bocarme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing