We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, lovely atmosphere, and very friendly hosts!”
Review of de Bocarme

de Bocarme
Reserve with
de Bocarme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 761 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $105
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My fiancee and I visited De Bocarme to celebrate our engagement in Bruges and our hosts were extremely knowledgeable and welcoming. The food was simply excellent. The beef was cooked so incredibly tenderly and the sauce that accompanied it was incredible. We were served salmon, caviar, melon, and great wine that our hosts advised us on.

If you have a special occassion to celebrate or just want a memorable meal to remember Bruges by then it is definitely worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Matt, Thank you for chosen De Bocarme for you engagement and your kind review, we hope to see you back as a married couple on your next visit to Bruges.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 303 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant on the strength of previous reviews and are so pleased we did.
Food magnificent
Service 1st class
Ambience wonderful
We had the set menu(choice of dishes) which includes everything from appertiff to coffee(wine glasses are kept full with the correct choice of wine for each course) Patrick and Nadine deserve the highest praise for this restaurant, the whole evening was wonderful and although we have eaten in many good restaurants over the years I can honestly say that this was the most perfect evening I can remember, we will definately return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Chris, Thank you for chosen our restaurant and your kind review, and for pointing out the value factor, we try to serve good food for a reasonal price. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was the best meal I've had for a very long time - everything was perfect, the food, the service, the wine, the location - everything. I can't recommend this restaurant enough!

We had the set menu with wine for 55 Euros each - this was incredible value for the quality of the food we received. We both chose the pheasant and foie gras terrine for starter which was beautiful! I had venison which was cooked to perfection and accompanied by potato dauphinoise and berries...stunning, the husband had the monk fish - so much flavour, it was beautiful. I had a selection of local cheeses for dessert - each one was delicious! Our meal also included an amuse bouche of lovely salmon and a very refreshing sorbet. We also had wines to accompany out courses, which were brilliantly matched, and tea and coffee following our dessert.

The staff were fantastic, very knowledgeable about the food and wine, very friendly and they were also kind enough to call us a cab and let us wait at our table for the cab to arrive. The restaurant itself is set underground in a converted cellar so there's a lot of exposed brickwork and it's very atmospheric. There are also gorgeous pieces of artwork aligning the walls which adds to this restaurants finesse.

What a fabulous meal - I will definitely return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheLittleWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your verry kind review, we are glad that we could give you both a nice evening with us, we allways try to serve food and wine matching eachother, so that every dish reaches a higher level. We hope to see you both back in the near future.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick Van Moorter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to the restaurant on Monday evening to celebrate my wife's birthday. Having read reviews on Tripadvisor I had high expectations which were exceeded. This beautiful restaurant is located just of the Market square in a 12th century cellar. Patrick, the owner really knows how to look after his customers and his wife Nadine is a wonderful chef delivering food of the highest quality and presentation. I would advise that you select the fixed price menu(with choices)and pay the extra for Patrick's selected and generous wines to go with each course. You must book in advance to avoid disappointment. A true Bruges gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian87Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Ian, it was a pleasure having you and your partner dining with us. Thank you for your visit and review, we hope to welcome you both back in the future when you visit our beautiful city.
We wish you and your family a Merry X mas and a happy New Year.
Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Set in an old cellar hidden only a stones throw from the Markt square, we spent a very pleasurable evening at this hidden gem restaurant.

The fixed price menu's with wine are very reasonable indeed. The quality and standard of food was excellent as was the service.

Will definitely return..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N8RJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear N8RJG, Thank you for choosen our restaurant while you where in Bruges, and for the nice review, we are pleased that you both enjoyed a nice time with us and we hope to see you back in the near future.
We wish you all a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Bocarme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Bocarme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing