We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely evening meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Middenstand

De Middenstand
Ranked #134 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We tried this place at random after walking the streets of Bruges. The waitress was very friendly and our food was very good and nicely presented - a lovely steak and excellent meat kebab.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    57
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointing...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were in Bruges for the day last Thursday and we've always had great dining experiences here... until now. De Middenstand looked nice enough and it wasn't crowded, just a few older people having lunch. The staff were friendly and all seemed fine. We had starters and mains, the starters were nice, no problems there. Our mains arrived, I had salmon with mustard cream sauce, vegetables and boiled potatoes. My husband had scampi in chefs cream sauce and chips. All of my food was very over cooked, the salmon was chewy and covered in slightly burnt oregano, the asparagus looked and behaved like a flacid... and every time I tried to spear a piece of potato it just crumbled away from my fork, It was terrible. My husbands scampi was also overcooked and rubbery, the fries tasted like cardboard. We politely asked for something to be done about it and the waitress looked really uncomfortable, she went to speak to the manager, and the manager relayed that this was just how the food was and nothing was going to be done about it. We spoke to the waitress some more, and she even admitted that the food was bad! With all the amazing food on offer in this beautiful city, avoid this place like the plague!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in heart of Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the restaurants which is nearly completely full during lunch time on weekends and not of tourist but local residents who came there for a lunch. We were very surprised that there is no young people inside but just rather old ones which knows each other and are very friendly for all. The cuisine was great especially local style mussels in a beer with mushrooms - for about twenty euro you get a big pot full of mussels and you have to be very hungry to eat everything.
I also recommend seafood soup which is delicious. The wine and beer choice is good and prices very adequate. The staff is very helpful and friendly. MUST to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichalK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family and I found this restaurant one night and decided to try it because it looked very fancy and cozy. The service was good and our waitress was very friendly. It wasn't packed but it wasn't empty either, there were just the right amount of people. We ordered our food thinking that it was going to be very good but we were completely disappointed once we tried it. It was completely tasteless and bland. The plates were nicely prepared but the food was just not what we thought it would be. Needless to say, I personally would not recommend this restaurant, specially since we all suffered from stomach aches after leaving.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmguzman_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in the hotel across the road for 3 nights & we ate there 2 nights the steaks are excellent cooked to perfection!!!!,we were hoping they would open all the nights we were there but they closed on Weds.We will be going back again next year and can't wait.Really recomended you will go out full& the staff so pleasant to the diners.Try it!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annie557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Middenstand also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Middenstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing