We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak so tender you only need a spoon!”
Review of El Churrasco

El Churrasco
Ranked #35 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is located in the luxurious hotel of J.K. Place in Capri Italy.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak so tender you only need a spoon!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a last min decision to eat here, we had per-booked a fancy place to eat but were too busy sightseeing and missed our table but how glad we're we? This place was fantastic! It doesn't look much, bit tacky in fact with its cow hides and cowboy booths but the food is orgasmic. The waiter was lovely, helping us choose and bought us an amazing red wine to go with. The whole evening was relaxed and enjoyable. The best bit without a doubt was our steaks. I had fillet which was the best I've eaten and hubby had rib eye which was huge and very tasty. Yumyumtiddlybum :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 457JustineN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    254
    51
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good lamb”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited the restaurant on a Friday evening, at around 10pm. Seated straight away, with good service. We received complimentary bread, and the food was brought quickly. I ordered the lamb chops, however the menu stated this as '8 lamb chops' but only five were on my plate? I would have very much liked eight, as they were the most delicious lamb chops I have ever eaten.

My partner had the mixed grill, this was unfortunately overcooked and looked tough. We also ordered two cocktails, these weren't great. It was a bit of a letdown on my partners birthday.

All in all I would recommend it, simply for the lamb chops - beautiful, just not as the menu said, 8!!! Don't go for a mixed grill, it's overcooked.... Just concentrate on the one thing!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Juicy Steak”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We travelled to Bruges on a fleeting 1 night stay to see some sights and have a bit of a change. Unfortunately we underestimated just how busy the restaurants would be on a Saturday night. We had not booked a table, but chanced it anyway. The restaurant was packed and we were told there would be nothing until 9pm, it was 8.10. We went off for a drink and returned to be greeted with a smile and seated within about 5 minutes.

While waiting for a mains the waiter delivered some soft white bread and a selection of 4 sauces and some garlic butter. These were an unexpected addition, and very tasty.

Between us we ordered the T-bone steak and the mixed grill. The steaks on both plates were cooked perfectly and the lamb and chicken on the mixed grill were both moist and succulent. We were worried that the salad and frites accompaniment would not satisfy our hunger, but were mistaken as we both struggled to finish.

The Malbec that we ordered was reasonably priced and very tasty, although after a day of being a tourist it did make us a little tired!!!

The atmosphere in the restaurant was very warm and vibrant and with most of the tables being in booths, it still retains the more personal dining experience. Altogether, we had a lovely meal and would definitely advise others to try it if you are a fan of good quality beef and no thrills dining.









Helpful?
Thank NandS Food S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

just visited this restaurant after we booked the day before and on the strength of some of the reviews, i have to say i was a bit disssapointed, the t bone and fillet were off the menu (7.30pm) and we waited at least 30 mins to order. not happy! ha but apart from that we did have a good night!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely meal. I wimped out with a chicken fillet (which was lovely) after a couple of nights of heavy food. My hubby had steak which looked amazing and he said would be hard to beat. Some nice touches with bread and dips on the house to start. Will deffo return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Churrasco also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to El Churrasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing