We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal trip”

Canal Trip Bruges-Damme
Ranked #13 of 45 Tours in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: When in Bruges, there’s nothing like viewing this historic city from its canals. These affordable, 30-minute boat tours follow the same routes and offer commentary in several languages. But because they’re incredibly popular with visitors, don’t be surprised by long waits in line.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Canal trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the canal trip in Bruges this weekend. Best way to get around and see the historic quaint buildings

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gillhealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    126
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boat trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We took a tour of the city on the Bruge canals, the 30 minute tour takes approx 30 mins which a tour guide running through the commentary, introducing the history and important buildings along the canal banks. Many tourists along the banks were taking pictures of us so we gave them a big cheers and a wave as we went past. There is a small toilet under the steps at the entrance/exit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

30 minute cruise. For 7euro and the driver ask for 1euro tip at the end. The good thing is the back door view of the buildind without view of commercial area. You can appreciated the real old environment. Other thsn that, nothing special. However, most tourist do canal trip because they think it should do. For me walk or bike is enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank Siriraj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A City Not To Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

In our cruise of the Baltic, Bruges was our favorite city. What we enjoyed most was the boat ride through the canals. The views of the ancient city was great and it was a definite relief from walking the cobblestone streets. It is an activity not to miss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beachbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lazy Trip down to Damme, Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We loved this trip down from Bruges to Damme on a pseudo paddle steamer boat which looked older than we were told...25 years old!! It took a slow trip down the canal...about 3kilometres I think, passing a few houses, farm areas, varous animals and a windmill...it was a really leisurely trip, relaxing and fun. There were a few other people on the boat apart from our party and I enjoyed chatting to an Aussie couple doing a 'grand tour' of Europe!
the boat is easy to access, covered if the weather is inclement, but plenty of sun on the day we went!There is a bar serving coffee tea and alcoholic drinks, plus a toilet.
he trip to Damme took about an hour and back gave us plenty of time to explore the village, have a lovely lunch and still get the last trip back which was at 3pm the day we went(late in the season) I think we were lucky because these trips dont extend all through the year but end in mid October I believe.
THoroughly enjoyable, but remember that many of the tourist attractions in Damme do not open out of season..the museum and amazing church were not accessable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Trip Bruges-Damme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Canal Trip Bruges-Damme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing